fb pixel

Safety & Health Committee

Workplace Safety and Health Act and Regulations 2022 [opens in a new window]

The primary role of the University's Health and Safety Committee is to oversee all matters of health and safety at the University.  The duties of the Committee include, but are not limited to:

  • Bring forward concerns from employees 
  • Help to identify hazards and risks to the safety and health and welfare of employees
  • Develop and promote programs for educating and informing employees
  • Make recommendations to the University concerning the safety and health of employees
  • Participate in regular workplace inspections
  • Participate in investigations relevant to accident/incidents, unsafe work refusal, and stop work
  • Maintain records
  • Monitor the effectiveness of the Safety and Health Program

Committee Terms of Reference

Committee Members

Name Representation and Position
Carrie Homeniuk AVP - Human Resources Co-chair
Caroline Crawford Director of Budgets
Kyle MacDonald Executive Director, Infrastructure
Craig Wood Director - Building Services
Trevor Day IUOE - Lead HVAC Technician
Patrick Coutu IUOE - Building Maintenance Engineer Alternate
Inga Johnson Mychasiw CMP Group
Christopher Brauer UWFA - Faculty Member
Katherine Breward UWFA - Faculty Member 
Beata Biernacka UWFA - Faculty Member 
Doug Williams UWFA - Faculty Member
Natasha Taiarol AESES - Technician Co-Chair
Jillian Golby-Borsa AESES - Administrative Manager
Mick Sidhu AESES - Electronic Technologist
Binara Hewagamage UWSA
Mathew Ashworth PSAC

Resource persons for the Health and Safety Committee:

  • Kevin Smith, Manager, Safety and Health
  • Tabitha Wood, Chair, Science Lab Safety Subcommittee
  • Jennifer Trotman, Director of Campus Living