Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)

Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)

The Radiation Safety Committee is a sub-committee of the University Workplace Safety and Health Committee.  The purpose of the Committee is to:

  • Authorize and control the use of radionuclides and radiation producing devices at the University in compliance with legislation, the consolidated or individual licenses issued by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, and the x-ray registrations issued by Manitoba Health; and
  • If warranted, suspend the use of any radionuclide or any radiation producing device at the University, regardless of the source of authorization.

The responsibilities of the Committee are to:

  • Develop and implement the radiation protection program for the University and to periodically review the program.
  • Produce and periodically review the University's Radiation Safety Policy and Procedures.
  • Meet at least once a year and as may be appropriate, fulfill its responsibilities or exercise its authority.
  • Inform the University Workplace Safety and Health Committee of the hazards associated with the use of radionuclides and radiation producing devices at the University.

The members of the Radiation Safety Committee are:

Dr. Desiree Vanderwel, Department of Chemistry, Chair

Dr. Paul Holloway, Department of Biology, Vice-Chair

Ms. Natasha Taiarol, Department of Biology

Dr. Athar Ata, Department of Chemistry

Dr. Donald G. Campbell, Department of Physics

Dr. Blair Jamieson, Department of Physics

Kevin Smith, Manager, Safety and Health, Radiation Safety Officer (RSO)