Search

Faculty of Education


UWinnipeg Student

Image courtesy UWinnipeg/Dan Bailey

The Faculty of Education is still available to answer email enquiries during the current COVID-19 pandemic as follows:

General Information: Claire Tordiffe at cm.tordiffe@uwinnipeg.ca
Student Teaching Practicum and Criminal Record/Child Abuse Checks: Monica Hoersch at m.hoersch@uwinnipeg.ca
Academic Advising for Year 1, Year 2 and students adding an extra year: Deb Bradley at d.bradley@uwinnipeg.ca
AD1, AD2, Cert Year 4 & 5: Amanda Bourgoin a.bourgoin@uwinnipeg.ca
Post-Bacc:  Amber Chessman at a.chessman@uwinnipeg.ca
RRC – UW Joint Program: Praveen Alahakoon at p.alahakoon@uwinnipeg.ca

All students should be checking the UW website: www.uwinnipeg.ca for updates during the COVID-19 pandemic. 


The study of Education at the University of Winnipeg blends theoretical knowledge with classroom practice in order to prepare students for a professional teaching career. Students in the Education program take courses from a variety of disciplines such as history, philosophy, biology, sociology and psychology alongside courses that focus on curriculum and pedagogy. The Education program at the University of Winnipeg is unique for several reasons. First, in addition to the preparation of preservice teachers leading to provincial certification, the program provides an additional focus on urban inner-city education. Second, early in the program students are provided with the opportunity of working with teachers and children in classrooms. This enables students to begin the transition from university student to professional educator early in their university career. Finally, the program provides considerable opportunities for interested students to participate in community outreach projects and on-going faculty research.

The Faculty of Education prioritizes equitable access for all students. Should you identify any accessibility-related barriers, please contact education@uwinnipeg.ca or 204-786-9491