fb pixel


Awards and Financial Aid | How to Apply | Awards Listing


These are scholarships that are awarded automatically to qualifying students. No application is required.

Michael Collins McIntyre Writing and Communications Scholarship

Value: Ranges from $200 - $550*

This scholarship will be awarded to a student who has declared a major in Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications, and received a high mark in Academic Writing or Introduction to Rhetoric and Communications. This scholarship celebrates Michael Collins McIntyre, a much-loved Psychology Professor, and well-respected Dean of Arts and Science from 1982-92. Dr. McIntyre helped launch The University of Winnipeg's Writing Program which has now become the Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications.


2020: Sarah London

2019: Thomas Dickson

2018: Janelle Gobin

2017: Benjamin Dueck

*Value subject to change

Scholarship in Rhetoric and Communications

Value: Ranges from $200 - $600*

This scholarship will be awarded on the nomination of the Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications, to students with outstanding records at The University of Winnipeg who are proceeding to further study majoring in Rhetoric and Communications. The successful recipient(s) will be selection based on GPA.


2020: Cassidy Rempel

2019: Jessica Bednarski

2018: Thomas Dickson

2017: Roselle Panganiban and Hannah Done

2016: Rebecca Schur

*Value subject to change


These are scholarships that require submission of an application and supporting documentation to be considered for the award. Application documents must be submitted to the Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications General Office in room 3G14.

English-Speaking Union Prize

Value: $2,100 (Subject to change)


Application Deadline: April 30, 2022




The English-Speaking Union Prize is offered to the student presenting the best piece of expository writing in an upper-level (2000 – 4000) rhetoric or writing course. Submit an application form and a copy of your chosen essay submission (a paper that was written and graded to fulfill the requirements for a 2000 – 4000 level rhetoric or writing course completed in Spring or Fall 2021, or Winter 2022).




2020: Sophie Ashton, Alina Moore, Maddalena Nowosad, Anna Schaible-Schur

2019: Nicole Marlee Brownlee


2018: Georgia Defehr


2017: Luke Rempel


2016: Jade Ruchkall


*Value subject to change

Reeh and Pamela Taylor Travel Award

Value: Award value is based on travel/attendance costs and has a maximum of $800 per student.*

Rolling application deadline.


This award was established by friends, colleagues, and family to honour Reeh Taylor on the occasion of his investiture as a Fellow of The University of Winnipeg. It will provide financial support to students in the Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications, to assist them with travel and other costs related to presentation of papers or attendance at academic conferences, symposia, or colloquia.

Students will be notified if they have been selected for this award before they travel or attend an event, however; travel/attendance costs will be reimbursed at the end of term after receipts are received by the department. Only one award will be granted per student.


2019: Georgia DeFehr

2016: Laura Ellis

*Value subject to change

Updated: March 2021