fb pixel

Honouring Dr. Michael Collins McIntyre

The Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications joins with the wider University of Winnipeg community in mourning the passing of Dr. Michael Collins McIntyre on Saturday, November 5, 2022. Dr. McIntyre was a highly accomplished administrator, researcher, and professor for more than three decades. 

Dr. McIntyre joined UWinnipeg’s Department of Psychology as an Assistant Professor in 1975, and took on the role of Assistant Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science from 1978 to 1983. He then served as Dean of that faculty from 1983 to 1992. In addition to playing a key leadership role in the growth and development of many academic programs, Dr. McIntyre established the Centre for Academic Writing, developed an accessibility program, and led the creation of a theatre department.

Dr. McIntyre was a highly respected and celebrated member of the UWinnipeg community, receiving the Clifford J. Robson Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2005, and the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance in 2014.After retiring from UWinnipeg in 2014, Dr. McIntyre was honoured by the university as Dean Emeritus in 2015 and with a Fellowship in United College in 2016.

In 2016-17, our Department awarded the inaugural Michael Collins McIntyre Rhetoric, Writing and Communications Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to a student who has declared a major in Rhetoric, Writing and Communications, has completed a minimum of 30 credit hours with a high mark in Academic Writing, and further demonstrates excellent writing abilities. The creation of this scholarship was to celebrate Michael Collins McIntyre--described by his students as a brilliant professor with a great passion for learning and teaching, a storyteller of science, a mentor, and a friend. When Dr. McIntyre was Dean of Arts and Science, he helped launch The University of Winnipeg's Writing Program which has now become the Department of Rhetoric, Writing and Communications. Of all his accomplishments in the academic world, he counted the creation and success of this Department as one of his proudest.

Rhetorical Awards and Scholarship for Students