Awards Night of Excellence 2019

The University of Winnipeg Foundation

On Wednesday, February 6, 2019, more than 225 students, donors and faculty members attended the annual Awards Night of Excellence to recognize the outstanding achievements made by our scholarship recipients and the generosity of our donors.  

The event was held in its traditional location in Riddell Hall at The University of Winnipeg and guests were served an array of delicious appetizers catered by Diversity Food Services.



Students 2

In addition to recognizing students, the program included presentation of the 2019 Donor Recognition Award.  This year’s recipient was Dr. James Blake Butler ('90), a longtime supporter of the Jan & Fred Butler Scholarship.

Dr. Butler


Dr. Butler grew up in East St. Paul, Manitoba, graduating with an International Baccalaureate Diploma from Miles MacDonell Collegiate.  He attended The University of Winnipeg and received a BA in History in 1990 before entering medical school. 

He received his FRCPC (Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Canada) designation in 1999 and returned to Winnipeg in 2000. He is currently an attending radiation oncologist at CancerCare Manitoba as well as an Assistant Professor at the University of Manitoba.

In 2001 James established the Jan & Fred Butler Scholarship in honour of his parents. It is awarded to full-time students with disabilities who have completed at least 30 credit hours and are continuing their studies at The University of Winnipeg.

Since its creation 14 students have received the scholarship. Thanks in part to James’ own generous contributions, the fund is valued at over $30,000.  


To see more photos from the evening, check out our Flickr page here.