Student Awards

The University of Winnipeg Foundation

The Opportunity Fund

The University of Winnipeg is deeply committed to diversity and community inclusion. We consider this our greatest strength. 

Located downtown on Treaty One land, in the heart of the Métis homeland, we represent the diverse demographics of our province: 13 percent of incoming students identify as Indigenous and almost one-third of the student body identifies as from a racialized community. UWinnipeg has created numerous supports to remove barriers for non-traditional students such as an expanded campus daycare, contemporary affordable housing including family apartments, and targeted financial assistance.

Our goal is to remain an accessible and welcoming place where all students belong and thrive. The Opportunity Fund was established in 2007 and is designed to assist students who are traditionally under-represented in higher education. Recipients must demonstrate financial need and come from one (or more) of the following groups: Indigenous students, recent immigrants, students with refugee backgrounds, students who are first in their family to attend post-secondary, and/or mature students.


Tuition Credit Program

Working with select inner-city schools, we offer children and teenagers the chance to earn up to $4,000 in their own tuition credit account. These are “earn as you learn” deferred scholarships. By the time a student earns a high school diploma, the support is there to help cover their tuition at The University of Winnipeg. This helps to create a “university-bound identity” in students as early as grade 4.

Youth-In-Care Tuition Waiver Program

In 2012, The University of Winnipeg launched a trial program unique in Canada which has since been emulated by a number of other post-secondary institutions across the country. There are more than 9,500 children and youth in foster care in Manitoba. The majority are First Nation and Métis, and it is estimated that in the past, less than 5% were able to pursue post-secondary education. The Opportunity Fund Tuition Waiver program provides new pathways to education for these students. UWinnipeg waives tuition fees and the Province of Manitoba child welfare authorities cover living expenses for current or former wards, including housing, textbooks and meal plans. Tuition waivers are renewable for an additional five years as long as the student maintains a minimum 2.00 cumulative grade point average. These youth also receive support from a designated advisor.


Give the Lifelong Gift of Education

The Opportunity Fund is supported by generous private donations. Gifts will be graciously accepted through any of the following methods:

Donate Online
Visit to make a secure credit card payment at your convenience.

Phone in Your Gift
P 204.786.9995 | TF 1.866.394.6050

Mail in Your Donation
The University of Winnipeg Foundation
901–491 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, MB, Canada R3B 2E4

Donors who make a donation will receive a charitable tax receipt and will be acknowledged in the Foundations’s annually published donor list. All donations to the Opportunity Fund are eligible for matching through the Province of Manitoba’s Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative (MSBI).