Health & Safety Committee

Safety Office

Workplace Safety and Health Act and Regulations 2014 [opens in a new window]

The primary role of the University's Health and Safety Committee is to oversee all matters of health and safety at the University.  The duties of the Committee include, but are not limited to:

  • Bring forward concerns from employees 
  • Help to identify hazards and risks to the safety and health and welfare of employees
  • Develop and promote programs for educating and informing employees
  • Make recommendations to the University concerning tje safety and health of employees
  • Participate in regular workplace inspections
  • Participate in investigations relevant to accident/incidents, unsafe work refusal, and stop work
  • Maintain records
  • Monitor the effectiveness of the Safety and Health Program

Committee Terms of Reference

Committee Members

Name Representation and Position
Laurel Repski Univ. - V.P. HR, Audit & Sustainability Co-chair
Mike Thul Univ. - Director, Physical Plant
Gary Pawlychka Univ. - Assoc. Controller, Finan. Serv.
Len Cann Univ. - Executive Director, Infrastructure
Vacant Employer Alternate
Trevor Day IUOE - HVAC Technician Alternate
Brian Schlag IUOE - Plumber
Deanna Pollock Excl. Employees - Mgr., Ins. Capital Acct.
James Hanley UWFA - Faculty Member Co-Chair
Kelly Gorkoff UWFA - Faculty Member
Katherine Breward UWFA - Faculty Member 
Paul Holloway UWFA - Faculty Member 
Natasha Taiarol AESES - Technician
Jillian Golby-Borsa AESES - Administrative Manager
Peter Balagus AESES - Technician
Tiffani Sawatsky   UWSA
Laura Garinger UWSA
Mike Nickerson PSAC

Resource persons for the Health and Safety Committee:

  • Kevin Smith, Health and Safety Specialist
  • Doug Brownridge, Occupational Safety Officer
  • Sangita Shah, Lab Safety Officer
  • Kimberly Buffie, Chair - Science Lab Safety Subcommittee
  • Marty Grainger, Emergency Preparedness Coordinator/Director, Security Services
  • Jennifer Trotman, Director of Campus Living