fb pixel

Student Awards and Financial Aid

The Philosophy Department annually offers a combination of competitive and automatic awards. They are merit-based and are specific to our program. We can only consider students who have declared their major for awards. The University of Winnipeg has academic advisors who can help you determine your major and plan your degree.

Some awards require an essay submission, references or descriptions of your extra-curricular activities. Please read the award description for more information.

  • You can apply for these awards by completing a General Application.
  • and any specific award applications in the “Recommended Opportunities” available to you through our online portal.

The Awards and Financial Aid Office also has numerous awards available for current UW students. Apply online every term. 

Philosophy Department Awards

Victor Y. Shimizu Kant Prize

This prize has been established in honour of Dr. Victor Y. Shimizu, who taught Philosophy at United College and The University of Winnipeg from 1958 to 1995. It will be awarded annually for the best essay on an individual philosopher, movement, or theme in the early modern period (seventeenth and eighteenth centuries).

Dr. David Owen Memorial Scholarship in Philosophy

Established by the family, friends and colleagues of Dr. David Owen, a distinguished scholar and professor at The University of Winnipeg, 1932-1972. Dr. Owen chaired the Department of Philosophy from 1935 until his retirement in 1966 and continued teaching until 1972; in 1973 he was made a Fellow of United College in recognition of the outstanding contribution which he made to the institution. This scholarship will be awarded on the recommendation of the Department to a senior student in the Major or Honours program in Philosophy best exemplifying qualities of academic excellence and breadth of interest.

Doba and Maier Calof Memorial Scholarship in Philosophy

This scholarship is funded by the Erica and Arnold Rogers Fund for Academic Excellence. It will be awarded annually to the most promising student entering the Third year of the Philosophy Major or Honours program.

Sydney Gallis Memorial Scholarship in Philosophy

This scholarship will be awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Department, to a meritorious student continuing their studies in Philosophy who exemplifies the spirit of philosophy.

Dr. Philip Wright Memorial Prize

In memory of the late Professor Philip B.Wright, Ph.D., an award is offered annually for the best essay submitted on any aspect of the work of Plato in the non-analytic tradition. Candidates must submit the essay to the Philosophy Department Chairperson.

Peter Miller Environmental Ethics Prize

This prize was established at the time of his retirement to honour Dr. Peter Miller and his years of teaching Philosophy at The University of Winnipeg (1967-1999). It will be awarded on the recommendation of the Department of Philosophy to a student who has achieved distinction in the study of Environmental Ethics.