fb pixel

Duff Roblin Award

Established by The University of Winnipeg and its Foundation in 2007, the Duff Roblin Award recognizes outstanding Manitobans who, like inaugural recipient The Honourable Duff Roblin, are patrons of education and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship and lifelong commitment to their communities.

Past recipients include:

2023 - Ruth Hastings
2022 - Lloyd Axworthy
2020/21 - UWinnipeg Student Cohort
2019 - Jennifer Roblin
2018 - Bob Silver
2017 - Bob Kozminski
2016 - Gerry Price
2015 - Justice Murray Sinclair
2014 - Gail Asper
2013 - Jan Belanger
2012 - Charles Coffey
2011 - Edward Kennedy
2010 - Tribute to Duff Roblin
2009 - Kerry Hawkins
2008 - Tom Jackson
2007 - Duff Roblin

The Honourable Duff Roblin, PC, CC, OM, LLD, DCL (1917 – 2010)

Born and raised in Manitoba, The Honourable Duff Roblin was a revered citizen admired by his community. 

In 1954, Roblin was chosen as leader of the provincial Progressive Conservative Party. Following victory in the 1958 election, Roblin served as Premier of the Province for nine years until 1967. After retiring from provincial politics, he was appointed to the Senate in 1978, later serving as Senate Leader from 1984 to 1986. He remained an active member until 1992.

Roblin was awarded Honorary Degrees by The University of Winnipeg, McGill University, and the University of Manitoba. He also received a Doctorate of Canon Law from St. John’s College.

Roblin was a visionary leader who advocated for education as the path to a brighter future for all citizens of our province. In addition to overseeing the granting of The University of Winnipeg Charter in 1967, his contributions to education included restoring of the use of French in Manitoba schools and increasing the accessibility of post-secondary studies for Manitobans.