MPA News

Political Science

NOTE:  As of July 1st, 2018, there is a new MPA Chair as well as a new Associate Chair:

MPA Chair
Dr. Karine Levasseur
Associate Professor, Political Studies
University of Manitoba
528 Fletcher Argue Bldg.
Winnipeg, MB   R3T 2N2
(204) 474-6410;

MPA Associate Chair
Dr. Malcolm Bird
Associate Professor, Political Science
Office:  6L18
The University of Winnipeg
515 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, MB   R3B 2E9
(204) 786-9122;


The Joint Master’s Program in Public Administration was implemented as of Fall 2017. 

Fall 2017 Program Requirements (36 credits)

All students entering the MPA Program as at Fall 2017 will complete a program of 36 credits (24 core credits; 12 optional credits).  The MPA will be a course-based program.  No advance standing will be accepted (transfer credits).   The co-operative educational program (Co-op Program) will be mandatory for all students, with approved waivers for those who meet eligibility criteria.

Students will complete 8 core courses (all 3 credit), with opportunities to complete 12 additional credits as options (for a total of 36 credits).  There is no thesis option or comprehensive examinations.  Students will be required, however, to complete a major paper as part of the Capstone Seminar.  The new required courses are:

            Administration and Governance

            Public Policy Process and Issues

            Principles of Public Finance for Policy Analysis

            Quantitative Methods for Policy Analysis

            Qualitative Methods and Communications in the Public Sector

            Professional Development Workshops

            Theories and Issues in Public Administration

            Capstone Seminar

The Joint Master’s Program in Public Administration will continue to be supervised by the Joint Discipline Committee (JDC) consisting of members from both the faculty of the University of Manitoba and the University of Winnipeg.  All students are responsible for understanding the policies, regulations and guidelines of the University of Manitoba, the Faculty of Graduate Studies as well as their Department/Program of study.

For more information, please contact the MPA Chair, Dr. Joan Grace at