fb pixel

UWinnipeg receives inaugural Tri-Agency equity award

Back row (left to right): Dr. Yannick Molgat-Seon, Angeline Nelson, and Dr. Lisa Sinclair. Front row (left to right): Dr. Melanie Martin and Dr. Nora Casson.

The University of Winnipeg is one of three post-secondary institutions in Canada to receive the inaugural Robbins-Ollivier Award for Excellence in Equity

Valued at $100,000 over one year, this Tri-Agency Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP) award recognizes the significant and impactful contributions that Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Louise Forsyth, Glenis Joyce, Audrey Kobayashi, Shree Mulay, Susan Prentice, Michèle Ollivier, and Wendy Robbins made to increase the level of equity in the CRCP, and Canada’s research ecosystem more broadly, by way of their 2003 Canadian Human Rights complaints and their concerted efforts in the mediation processes, which led to both the 2006 Settlement Agreement and its addendum in 2019.

UWinnipeg’s proposal, Pathways to Science Program, was submitted by Dr. Nora Casson, Dr. Melanie Martin, Dr. Yannick Molgat-Seon, Dr. Lisa Sinclair, and Angeline Nelson. This project proposes to develop a harmonized suite of programs on campus to encourage Indigenous students to pursue careers and graduate studies in the natural sciences and engineering.

Click HERE to read the full article...