The Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session Winners Announced


Today, September 22, 2010, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) 5th annual poster competition, now called The Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session, saw 24 top-notch undergraduate students present their research. This is a privilege normally reserved for graduate students at other universities but an opportunity shared with the undergraduates at The University of Winnipeg.

"This science poster competition has been named The Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session in honour of Randy, the late Associate Dean of Science," explained Rod Hanley, UWinnipeg's Dean of Science. "He was integral in making this competition a success. Randy always dedicated his time and energy in assisting undergraduate students. This competition expands their research opportunities beyond what is available at other institutions thanks to Randy's commitment and vision."

The poster competition is a vehicle to establish students in their chosen field of study while participating in world-class research. Much of the research detailed in the poster competition will also be published in leading scientific journals. The topics covered four academic departments including Anthropology, Chemistry, Physics, and Psychology and reflected a cross-section of undergrad research.

The late Randy Kobes, Associate Dean of Science, was an outstanding academic, physicist and educator of young people. He was fully dedicated to public engagement in science. His contributions to community learning at The University of Winnipeg are immeasurable. One of his many contributions is founding the Manitoba chapter of Let’s Talk Science, which promotes scientific literacy by having UWinnipeg volunteer scientists visit classrooms, present interactive experiments and raise awareness of science. Randy Kobes passed away on Saturday, September 18, 2010.

UWinnipeg’s Faculty of Science, Research Office and Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) sponsored this competition.

Winners of The 2010 Randy Kobes Undergraduate Poster Session:

First Place - Michael Lang, Physics Department
Very low field magnetic resonance imaging… can less be more?

Second Place - Ian Taylor, Physics Department
X-ray Simulation using the Monte Carlo Technique

Third Place  - Dylan Buhr, Physics Department
Shadows of Entanglement

Honourable Mentions include: Tim Chau from the Physics Department, Shanleigh MacKenzie from the Psychology Department, Sam Voth from the Chemistry Department and Wan Wang from the Psychology Department.

Shown in the picture below are the award winners:

Back row, L-R Tim Chau, Dylan Buhr, Mike Lang, Sam Voth
Front row, L-R Wan Wang, Shanleigh MacKenzie

2010 Poster Winners