Search

University & Statutory Holidays

Human Resources


2016/2017 Holiday Schedule

The University will be observing the following days as holidays and special vacation days in 2016/2017 for those employees who are not scheduled to work on weekends:

The following statutory holidays will be observed on the dates they fall:

Louis Riel Day Monday, February 20, 2017   
Good Friday Friday, April 14, 2017
Victoria Day Monday, May 22, 2017
Canada Day Friday, June 30, 2017
Terry Fox Day Monday, August 7, 2017
Labour Day Monday, September 4, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 9, 2017
Remembrance Day   Friday, December 22, 2017

The Christmas - New Year Break will be as follows:

Floating Holiday

Friday, December 23, 2016

Two 1/2 Day Holidays N/A
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Boxing Day Monday, December 26, 2016
Vacation Day #1 Wednesday, December 28, 2016
Vacation Day #2 Thursday, December 29, 2016
Vacation Day #3 Friday, December 30, 2016
New Years Day Monday, January 2, 2017
Return to Work Tuesday, January 3, 2017


Notes:

  1. The days that are noted as Vacation Day #1, Vacation Day #2, and Vacation Day #3 are to be taken as days off with pay (charged against the three (3) days of Christmas - New Year's Vacation Entitlement) for those who qualify for the Christmas - New Year's vacation days unless the employee is required to carry out normal or specifically assigned duties on those days.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Please confirm any arrangements for employees to work on these days through Bryan Ward at 204-786-9133. In these instances, overtime rates will not apply and the vacation day(s) shall be rescheduled. The Floating Holiday is observed in lieu of Easter Monday and is carried forward to  occur during the Christmas - New Year's vacation.
  1. Hourly paid employees are not eligible for the 3 days of Christmas - New Year's vacation entitlement, regardless of the number of days worked prior to the break.
  • Salaried employees (those continuing or sessional employees with a regular fixed number of hours per week) are entitled to the 3 days of Christmas - New Year's vacation. 
  • Full-time Term employees in positions of eight months or greater and part-time (1/2 time or greater) employees in positions  of 12 months or greater are entitled to the 3 days of Christmas - New Year's vacation.



Back to Payroll Home Page

Back to Human Resources Home Page