Information for Guidance Counsellors

Welcome! This page has been developed to provide all of our educational partners with the information they need to assist students to successfully become UWinnipeg students.

 

Counsellor Resources

 

Events

For those of you in or near Manitoba, there are several campus events throughout the year that we would like you to be aware of. These events are intended to give students a chance to come to the campus, gather information and make informed decisions about their future. These events are also a great opportunity for us to share information and answer any questions you may have.

Counsellors' Update
What: This seminar is developed for guidance counsellors in Manitoba to learn about new programs and policy changes, important updates for admissions, awards & financial aid, and scholarships.
Where:
Virtual for 2021 (via Zoom)

Future Student Night
What: This evening event provides prospective students an opportunity to talk with deans, professors, current students and staff to learn more about The University of Winnipeg. This event is open to everyone and anyone interested in learning more about UWinnipeg.
Where: Virtual for 2021

Open House
What: This event allows students in grades 10-12 and their parents an opportunity to see interactive displays and talk with deans, professors, current students and staff about their future at The University of Winnipeg. This event is also geared toward students who are still thinking about which university they would like to attend.
Where: Format TBD


Counsellor Newsletters

Our e-newsletter provides important and helpful information throughout the year, directly to your inbox. If you would like to receive this newsletter and other updates, please send an email to welcome@uwinnipeg.ca – we would love to hear from you!

 

Key Contacts

Student Recruitment

  • High school visit and presentation requests
  • Additional materials (viewbooks, posters, etc.)
  • Campus tours or special arrangements
  • Recruitment events
  • Award recipient list
  • Questions about programs, admission requirements, application procedures


Alex Gachanja - Recruitment Coordinator*
al.gachanja@uwinnipeg.ca
Office: 204.789.1494
Mobile: 204.330.7311
*Primary counsellor contact

Diane Kozmet - Reception
welcome@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9844 (main office)

Ashley Dunlop - Director
as.dunlop@uwinnipeg.ca
204.789.1490

Nadia Paul - Recruitment Officer
n.paul@uwinnipeg.ca
Office: 204.988.7633
Mobile: 204.291.3084

Gina Borges - Recruitment Officer
g.borges@uwinnipeg.ca
Office: 204.786.9976

Echo Gu - Recruitment & Transition Officer
e.gu@uwinnipeg.ca
Office: 204.982.1160
Mobile: 431.688.2897

 

Admissions

  • Application status
  • Transfer credit evaluation
  • Accelerated and dual credit courses
  • Submission of final grades

admissions@uwinnipeg.ca
204.779.9159

 

Awards & Financial Aid

  • Scholarship application and financial aid info

awards@uwinnipeg.ca


Aboriginal Student Services Centre (ASSC)

Tim Couglan (Indigenous Liaison Officer)*
t.coughlan@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9922
*Primary counsellor contact

Randy White (Transition Year Program Coordinator)
r.white@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9983

Jeff Booth (Aboriginal Student Support Officer)
j.booth@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9818

International Student Services
iirss@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9469

 

International and Immigrants Refugee Student Services (IIRSS)

David Atem (IIRSS Support Officer)
d.atem@uwinnipeg.ca

204.258.2910

 

Accessibility Services and Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services

Colleen Kwade (Accessibility Services Assistant)
c.kwade@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9771

Lara Coombs (Accessibility Coordinator)
l.coombs@uwinnipeg.ca
204.258.2938

Tessa Rogowski (Coordinator of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services)
t.rogowski@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9704

 

Adult Learner Services
adultlearners@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9257

 

Campus Living (Student Housing)
housing@uwinnipeg.ca
204.786.9900