Canada Research Chairs

Faculty of Arts

Dr. Angela Failler, Canada Research Chair in Culture and Public Memory

Dr. Angela Failler is Associate Professor of Women's and Gender Studies and Canada Research Chair in Culture and Public Memory at the University of Winnipeg. For more

Previous Canada Research Chairs

Dr. Mavis Reimer, Professor of English, was awarded a five year term as a Canada Research Chair in Young People's Texts and Cultures, starting in 2005. In 2006, the Centre for Research in Young People's Texts and Cultures (CRYTC) was established. CRYTC has thrived under Dr. Reimer's direction; it is now home to faculty members with diverse interests, has a number of affiliates (both local and international), and has hosted visiting scholars from Canada, the US, Brazil, Japan, China and Australia. CRYTC also houses an international journal, Jeunesse: Young People, Texts, Cultures. In November 2010, the University of Winnipeg announced that Dr. Reimer's Canada Research Chair has been renewed for a second five-year term, i.e., 2010-2015.

For more information on Dr. Mavis Reimer, now Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies at the University of Winnipeg, you can go to her bio which is posted on the CRYTC website.

Dr. Evelyn Peters is an urban social geographer and Professor in the Department of Urban and Inner-City Studies. She was awarded the Canada Research Chair in Inner-City Issues, Community Learning and Engagement in 2010. Her research focuses on the First Nations and Métis people in cities and she has published extensively on urban aboriginal issues and homelessness.In 2013 Dr. Peters was recognized by the Canadian Association of Geographers with the award for Service to the Discipline for her role in developing urban Aboriginal geography as a sub-discpline in the field.

Dr. Jennifer Brown
retired as a Professor of History and Director of the Centre for Rupert's Land Studies in 2011. She held a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Aboriginal Peoples and Histories at the University of Winnipeg from 2004-2011.