The University of Winnipeg Act, passed by the Manitoba legislature, provides that governance of the University is shared between a Board of Regents and a Senate.  The Act sets out the roles, duties and powers of both governing bodies.

The Board of Regents determines overall policy for the University. This includes providing the administration with strategic direction and a broad framework of goals and objectives.

The Senate is responsible for the academic policy and practices of the University, faculty, staff and students. Examples of Senate responsibilities include curriculum development, setting academic standards. student appeals, and conferring of degrees.

The membership of Senate (voting):

  • Lester Aidoo, UWSA
  • Sylvie Albert, Dean of Business and Economics
  • Rob Anderson, Biology
  • Athar Ata, Chemistry
  • Germán Avila Sakar, Biology
  • Jeff Babb, Acting Chair of Applied Computer Science
  • Tim Babcock, Chair of Theatre and Film
  • Soham Baksi, Economics
  • Mohamed Behi, UWSA
  • Robert Bend, Dean of the Collegiate
  • Simon Berge, Business & Administration
  • Chris Bidinosti, Physics
  • Bern Bileski, Board of Regents
  • Bruce Bolster, Psychology
  • Janel Bortoluzzi, UWSA
  • Per Brask, Theatre & Film
  • Morgan Brightnose, UWSA
  • Laura Cameron, UWSA
  • Sergio Camorlinga, Applied Computer Science
  • Anne-Laurence Caudano, History
  • Yadira Chinique De Armas, Anthropology
  • Brandon Christopher, Chair of English
  • Jaime Cidro, Master's in Development Practice
  • Jennifer Clary-Lemon, Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications
  • Carlos Colorado, Chair of Religion & Culture
  • Tim Cowan, Collegiate
  • Roewan Crowe, Chair of Women's and Gender Studies
  • James Currie, Acting Provost and VP (Academic)
  • Linda DeRiviere, Chair of Political Science
  • William Rory Dickson, Religion and Culture
  • Jino Distasio, VP (Research & Innovation)
  • Bronwyn Dobchuk-Land, Criminal Justice
  • Renée Douville, Biology
  • Michael Emslie, VP (Finance & Administration)
  • Jan Forster, Deputy Minister of Education Representative
  • Alexander Freund, German/Canadian Studies
  • George Fulford, Anthropology
  • Brenden Gali. UWSA
  • Laura Garinger, UWSA
  • Matthew Gibbs, Chair of Classics
  • Colin Goff, Chair of Sociology
  • Doug Goltz, Acting Dean of Science
  • Hugh Grant, Acting Chair of Philosophy
  • Melanie Gregg, Acting Chair of Kinesiology
  • James Hanley, Chair of History
  • Rosalie Harms, Acting Chair of Business & Administration
  • Emma Hill Kepron, Library
  • Shakhawat Hossain, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Judith Huebner, Chair of Biology
  • Aman Hussain, Kinesiology and Applied Health
  • Sia Kermani, UWSA
  • Steven Kohm, Chair of Criminal Justice
  • Paul Lawrie, History
  • Megan Linton, UWSA
  • Royden Loewen, Chair of Mennonite Studies
  • Shauna MacKinnon, Chair of Urban and Inner-City Studies
  • Ken McCluskey, Dean of Education
  • Alan McGreevy, Biology
  • Jaqueline McLeod Rogers, Chair of Rhetoric, Writing and Communication
  • Peter Melville, English
  • Heather Milne, English
  • Aaron Moore, Political Science
  • Glenn Moulaison, Dean of Arts
  • Julie Nagam, History
  • Tetyana Narozhna, Political Science
  • Manish Pandey, Economics
  • April Pasieczka, Collegiate
  • Dean Peachey, Psychology
  • Pauline Pearson, Psychology
  • Gabrielle Prefontaine, Dean of the Libraries
  • Mavis Reimer, Dean of Graduate Studies
  • Laurel Repski, VP (HR, Audit and Sustainability)
  • Jacqueline Romanow, Chair of Indigenous Studies
  • Robert Silver, Chancellor
  • Ray Silvius, Political Science
  • Laura Sokal, Education
  • Jan Stewart, Acting Dean of Kinesiology
  • Anna Stokke, Chair of Mathematics & Statistics
  • Allison Surtees, Classics
  • Dawn Sutherland, Education
  • Katharine Tabbernor, Education
  • Annette Trimbee, President & Vice-Chancellor
  • Vanja Tubin, Board of Regents
  • Shelley Tulloch, Chair of Anthropology
  • Marc Vachon, Chair of Geography
  • Waarengeye Vikram, UWSA
  • Dwight Vincent, Chair of Physics
  • Sante Viselli, Chair of Modern Languages and Literatures
  • Laura-Anne Warszycki, Biology
  • Richard Westwood, Chair of Environmental Studies
  • Christopher Wiebe, Chemistry
  • Douglas Williams, Chair of Psychology
  • Devin Woodbury, UWSA
Senate Committees
  • Academic Planning Committee
  • Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee
  • Budget Review Committee
  • Curriculum Committee
  • Executive Committee
  • Faculty and Staff Awards Committee
  • Graduate Studies Committee
  • Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee
  • Library Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Professional, Applied and Continuing Education Committee
  • Research Policy Committee
  • Student Appeals Committee
  • Student Services Committee

Senate Committee Membership [PDF]

Contact Information:

All communications for Senate should be sent to the University Secretary.

Last updated September 22, 2017