Search

University & Statutory Holidays

Human Resources


2018/2019 Holiday Schedule

The University will be observing the following days as holidays and special vacation days in 2018/2019 for those employees who are not scheduled to work on weekends:

The following statutory holidays will be observed on the dates they fall:

Louis Riel Day Monday, February 19, 2018   
Good Friday Friday, March 30, 2018
Victoria Day Monday, May 21, 2018
Canada Day Monday, July 2, 2018
Terry Fox Day Monday, August 6, 2018
Labour Day Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 8, 2018
  

The Christmas - New Year Break will be as follows:

Remembrance Day Friday, December 21, 2018
Two 1/2 Day Holidays Monday, December 24, 2018
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Boxing Day Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Floating Holiday Thursday, December 27, 2018
Vacation Day #1 Friday, December 28, 2018
Vacation Day #2 Monday, December 31, 2018
New Years Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Vacation Day #3 Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Return to Work Thursday, January 3, 2019

 

Notes:

  1. The days that are noted as Vacation Day #1, Vacation Day #2, and Vacation Day #3 are to be taken as days off with pay (charged against the three (3) days of Christmas - New Year's Vacation Entitlement) for those who qualify for the Christmas - New Year's vacation days unless the employee is required to carry out normal or specifically assigned duties on those days.

    Please confirm any arrangements for employees to work on these days with your HR Consultant. In these instances, overtime rates will not apply and the vacation day(s) shall be rescheduled. The Floating Holiday is observed in lieu of Easter Monday and is carried forward to  occur during the Christmas - New Year's vacation.
  1. Hourly paid employees are not eligible for the 3 days of Christmas - New Year's vacation entitlement, regardless of the number of days worked prior to the break.
  • Salaried employees (those continuing or sessional employees with a regular fixed number of hours per week) are entitled to the 3 days of Christmas - New Year's vacation. 
  • Full-time Term employees in positions of eight months or greater and part-time (1/2 time or greater) employees in positions  of 12 months or greater are entitled to the 3 days of Christmas - New Year's vacation.

2019/2020 Holiday Schedule

The University will be observing the following days as holidays and special vacation days in 2018/2019 for those employees who are not scheduled to work on weekends:

The following statutory holidays will be observed on the dates they fall:

Louis Riel Day Monday, February 18, 2019
Good Friday Friday, April 19, 2019
Victoria Day Monday, May 20, 2019
Canada Day Monday, July 1, 2019
Civic Holiday Monday, August 5, 2019
Labour Day Monday, September 2, 2019
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 14, 2019
Remembrance Day  Monday, November 11, 2019

The 2019-2020 Christmas - New Year Break will be as follows:

Floating Holiday Monday, December 23, 2019
Two (1/2) Day Holidays Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Boxing Day Thursday, December 26, 2019
Vacation Day #1 Friday, December 27, 2019
Vacation Day #2 Monday, December 30, 2019
Vacation Day #3 Tuesday, December 31, 2019
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Return to Work Thursday, January 2, 2020


Back to Payroll Home Page

Back to Human Resources Home Page