fb pixel

Stephanie Midford

Stephanie MidfordTansi, hello, bonjour,

I am Ciipehtakwaaw Kiisik Iskwew (Blue Sky Women), I am part of the Bear Clan, and my English given name is Stephanie. I use she/her pronouns.  I identify as First Nation (Cree/ Saulteaux) and French (France).  On my maternal side, my grandfather is from Peguis First Nation and my grandmother is from Sandy Bay First Nation but grew up in Camperville.  I am member of Peguis First Nation.  On my paternal side, my mami and papi are from the south of France. I was born and raised in the north part of Winnipeg, and grew up learning and speaking French.  I am thankful to be born into this life and I am most grateful and honoured to be a mom to two amazing children.

I am a full time educator in the Winnipeg School Division. Currently in my professional work I am an Indigenous Student Services Support Teacher.  Everyday I have the honor and opportunity to live and work in a way where I am modeling Indigenous ways of learning (look,  listen, learn, live, and love).  As a support teacher I am placed in a position of influence and have a unique reach to many schools, administrators and professionals in support roles across the division.  I believe by supporting those on their journey to live in a wholistic way promotes a better understanding of themself through spiritual, physical, mental, and emotional well being that one can be able to better themselves and to see themselves as a sacred being within all of life.  One of my passions that I pride myself in is advocating for students and families by working alongside them to amplify their voices from a strength based lens when it comes to student learning.

Following grade 12 graduation, I enrolled in the Integrated Bachelor of Arts and Education program at the University of Winnipeg, graduating in June 2005. I completed my Post Baccalaureate in Special Education at the University of Manitoba in May 2012.  I am a lifelong learner and thrilled to continue my learning curiosity within the MDP program.

In my spare time I enjoying being active and outside with my kids. I love all sports and play soccer.  I enjoy cooking, baking, travelling, volunteering, and learning anything new.

Ekosi, thank you, Merci!