Don Newman

Honorary Doctorate

Don Newman

Don Newman, OC is an award-winning broadcaster, one of Canada’s foremost political reporters and a respected expert on Canadian and foreign politics. Newman – a University of Winnipeg Collegiate graduate (’59) and a United College Associate Alumnus is a shining example of responsible journalism and is a role model for integrity in reporting.

Newman is Senior Parliamentary Editor for CBC News and host of CBC Newsworld’s daily program Politics, an intelligent analysis of major political news stories and newsmakers in Ottawa and around the country. Newman also contributes regularly to other programs on the network with analysis and updates on unfolding political news. He also anchors special live coverage of elections, first ministers’ meetings, news conferences and political conventions.

The veteran CBC broadcaster has chronicled our nation’s major political events since the 1960s including the failed Meech Lake and Charlottetown accords, Canada-US free trade agreement, the GST, political scandals and resignations, crucial debates over public policy and major decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada. As Washington Bureau correspondent for CTV and CBC, Newman covered Watergate and the Camp David peace accord. Newman was named to the Order of Canada in 1999 for providing Canadians with his unique blend of insightful analysis and compelling commentary. He was also awarded the first Charles Lynch Award for outstanding coverage of national affairs by the National Press Club in 1997 and received the 2005 Hyman Solomon award for Public Policy Journalism.

“The years Don spent at United College provided him with the intellectual and moral foundation he needed to embark on his celebrated career,” said University of Winnipeg President & Vice-Chancellor Lloyd Axworthy. “For years, Don has provided thoughtful and thorough commentary on Canadian and foreign politics. We are proud to have Don Newman among our ranks of alumni. He is a mentor to new journalists and embodies the ethical principles that journalists everywhere should aspire to.”