Kenneth Meadwell

The Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance

Kenneth Meadwell

Kenneth Meadwell is an inspiration to many in the Faculty of Arts where he has served since 1983 in a number of capacities. Significantly, he served as Department Chair a full thirteen years, a challenging assignment that he embraced with tireless energy and where he left his mark in contributing to the self-governance of the University.

Remarkable Growth
Under Meadwell's leadership, the French Department grew to become the Department of French Studies and German Studies. Italian Studies and Spanish Studies were cultivated and the Department evolved into the Department of Modern Language and Literatures, fitting well within our mandate as a multicultural institution in a downtown setting. Overseeing this remarkable growth and paying close attention to the many administrative details, Meadwell still found time to remain accessible to students, faculty and staff.

In addition, Meadwell nurtured a stronger and more demanding Honours program and revived the Perpignan Program - Third Year Abroad Program, Université de Perpignan, France, negotiating successfully with the French authorities. The Program attracts students from several universities in Canada, including Lakehead, Regina, Saskatoon, University of Alberta and University of British Columbia.

Meadwell's involvement with University governance was also felt as a member of the Board of Regents, Continuing Education and The University of Winnipeg Faculty Association.

For his many accomplishments, Kenneth Meadwell is the recipient of the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance.