fb pixel

Class Acts 2023

UWinnipeg alumni are leaders in the community; scientists, writers, artists, politicians, business leaders, and entrepreneurs who expand knowledge and inspire innovation. Class Acts provides a snapshot of these achievements and is a great way to stay connected. Whether you received an award, changed jobs, joined a committee, published a book, or explored a new hobby, we'd love to hear from you. Please e-mail alumni@uwinnipeg.ca to be included.

The following lists share alumni achievements and milestones in 2022. See 2022 Class Acts or 2021 Class Acts for more great stories.

Authors and creators

Class of 2000-2009

Bautisa, Darlyne (BAH 05) wrote a children's book to be used by the Winnipeg School Division in it's Filipino bilingual school program. Where is Winnipeg? is a heart-warming tale that will give kids a sense of what it may mean to move from the Philippines to Canada.

Business and industry

Class of 2000-2009

Koldingnes, Vanessa (BA 06) has been appointed Vice-President (External) at the University of Manitoba.

Class of 2010-2019

Fenn, Taylor (BA4 19) is the new Director of Marketing and Communications at Peak of the Market. Fenn joins Peak of the Market after three years in the communications department at the Louis Riel School Division. Peak of the Market Ltd. markets quality produce; supplying a wide variety of fresh, quality vegetables across Canada and throughout the United States.

Class of 2020-2029

Redhead, Marie-Anne (BAH 21) is the new Assistant Curator of Indigenous and Contemporary Art at The Winnipeg Art Gallery-Qaumajuq. She is of Ininiwak and Francophone heritage, and is a member of the Fox Lake Cree Nation of northern Manitoba.


Class of 1970-1979

Card, Ruth (BA 70) has lived in Saskatchewan since 1972 when she was offered a position as a social worker in Weyburn after graduating with a Master of Social Work from U of Manitoba that year. She is retired and married to Greg Grace (BA 69), also retired and they live in Regina.

Class of 2010-2019

Bhathal, Prabhjeet (PACE 18) found PACE to be both a very professional and fun loving atmosphere at the same time. His instructors wre trained professionals working as Project Managers.

Law and public service

Class of 1980-1989

Pinsky, Lawrence Isaac (Collegiate 83, BA 89) was called to the Manitoba bar in 1993. Pinsky has been practising law with Taylor McCaffrey LLP since 1998 and became a partner shortly thereafter. His main areas of practise are in advocacy, principally in family law and in other specialized areas, and
in family mediation and arbitration. Pinsky sat on the Manitoba human rights adjudication panel for three terms. Pinsky is an executive member of the Canadian Bar Association, family section; a co-founder, director and president of FAMLI (the Family Arbitration and Mediation Legal Institute); and a co-founder and co-chair of the National Family Law Arbitration Program.
He has volunteered on multiple boards and has been a speaker, presenter, and guest lecturer at various universities over the years.

Class of 1990-1999

Inness, Sarah Ann (BAH 94) was called to the Manitoba bar in 1999. Inness has been a partner at Campbell Gunn Inness Seib since 2007. Inness has been a sessional instructor in the faculty of law at the University of Manitoba in the subjects of criminal law and procedure (2015 to 2017) and introduction to advocacy (2017 to present). Inness received the Criminal Defence Lawyers Association of Manitoba merit award in 2020. In June 2022, Inness participated as a host in a podcast for the Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice. Inness has been a member of the Faculty of the National Criminal Law program since July 2022.

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM)