Advisory Committee

Wii Chiiwaakanak Learning Centre

The Wii Chiiwaakanak Learning Centre is guided and informed in all aspects of its work by members of our volunteer advisory committee, who represent Winnipeg’s diverse Aboriginal and inner-city communities. To date, members include representatives from the community, public education professionals, social service organizations, and experts who bring community-based and organizational experience to the committee.

Together, with our advisory committee to date, and our many partners and collaborators, we will begin to implement the strategic goals to best take advantage of our unique position in pursuit of community and University expectations.

Open Invitation

The advisory committee has an open invitation for additional members to participate on the committee.

The Advisory Committee (to date):

Allan Wise, Centennial Neighbourhood Development Corporation
Andrea Redsky, Faraday School
Barb Nepinak, Community Elder
Cassandra Houle, Pregnancy and Family Support Services
Clarence Nepinak, Community Elder
Courtney Sinclair, Spence Neighbourhood Association
Darlyne Klyne, Community Education Development Association
Dustyne Lefurgey, Ndinawe
Joan Hay, Community member
Grace Campbell, Community member
Kaya Wheeler, Urban Eagle Transition Centre
Karen Beaudin, City of Winnipeg
Kim Midford, Sister MacNamara School
Marty Boulanger, Sport Manitoba
Meg McGimpsey, West End Cultural Centre
Melanie MacKinnon, Broadway Senior Resource Council
Miranda Santolini, UWinnipeg, The Global Welcome Centre
Mike Hawkins, Community member
Pat Desjarlais, Ma Mawi Wi Chi Itata Centre, Inc
Sandy Cairns, Health Sciences Centre
Sharon Bowcott, Centre for Aboriginal Human Resource Development
Terry Weaymouth, Community member
Trevor Campbell, Community member
Vihn Huynh, Hugh John Macdonald School
Wab Kinew, CBC/Indie Ends Productions
Wayne Bend, Gordon Bell High School