Awards in Science

Header image red text "Faculty of Science Awards" on white background

Featured Science Student

Lucy ToddLucy Todd
R. Fletcher Argue Scholarship

Dear students, professors, family members, friends, and distinguished guests,

I can safely say that when I was first asked to give this speech, I could never have imagined where we would be today. However, through all the adjustment and change, I greatly appreciate The University of Winnipeg still prioritizing this celebration of all your accomplishments! Congratulations!

I have been so blessed to be a student at The University of Winnipeg’s chemistry department for the past four years. I have felt so incredibly supported by the students and the staff, whether it was an extended deadline, a kind ear, or a literal shoulder to cry on. Let’s be honest, everyone has cried at least once at university!

During these 4 years, I have been absolutely blown away by the scholarships and funding The University of Winnipeg provides for its students and it is definitely one of my favourite bragging points about U of W! Like many of you, I have worked multiple jobs during my time at university to try and stay afloat. However, since my first year, I was quickly impressed with how the U of W rewarded hard academic work with awards and scholarships.

As I look towards a PhD in chemistry at the University of Cambridge, UK, I feel so blessed to have this foundation from the U of W. I would also like to thank my parents, professors, and friends for all of their incredible support!

I have so enjoyed my time and The University of Winnipeg and I know that whenever I come to visit, it will always feel like home.

Full Awards List

  • + SCIENCE STUDENTS AND AWARDS - Click to expand

    Dilbarjot Dr. Jessie Blackwood Lang Scholarship  Erica & Arnold Rogers Scholarship in Applied Computer Science   

    Abdimalik Ali H.F. Allen Family Entrance Scholarship - Year 1     

    Julia Antonyshyn Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship - Year 4  University of Winnipeg Retirees Association Scholarship   

    Sarah Baldwin University of Winnipeg Women's Auxiliary Scholarship     

    Nadir Bashir Barre Opportunity Fund Tuition Credit     

    Deepinder Bedi Roderick O. A. Hunter Memorial Scholarship - Year 1     

    Hannah Bloomfield Ingrid and Klaus Philipp Scholarship in Chemistry     

    David Bosc Kyocera Applied Computer Science Scholarship     

    Eric Caners Garnet Kyle Scholarship - Year 4     

    Kimbaya Carriere Environmental Awareness and Impact Scholarship     

    Caitlyn Cure Garnet Kyle Scholarship - Year 1     

    Drew Davies Westcoast Energy Inc. Scholarship in Applied Computer Science     

    Simon Depasquale Fred Douglas Place Residents' Tribute Scholarship     

    Rylie Dickson The Philipp Scholarship     

    Maia Doucet Klaus and Ingrid Philipp Scholarship in Biochemistry     

    Harrison Engen Larry A. Didow Scholarship for Students with Learning Disabilities     

    Spencer Ferbers Sir William Stephenson Scholarship     

    Olivia Ferreira Harris Consulting Award for Student Leadership     

    Emma Friesen Chancellor's Special Entrance Scholarship     

    Hunter Gamache Chancellor's Special Entrance Scholarship     

    John Garcia R. Fletcher Argue Scholarships     

    Bhavana Garg H.V. Rutherford Scholarship     

    Michael Grehan Brian J. Hyslop Memorial Scholarship in Physics  Rev. John H. and Mrs. Myrtle (Webster) Shemilt Scholarship   

    Kaitlyn Hanson Environmental Awareness and Impact Scholarship     

    Florian Haskerkehrer Manitoba Forestry Association Dr. Alan B. Beaven Forestry Scholarship     

    Mariam Hftemariam The Maria Graciete and Jose Correia Family Scholarship - Year 1     

    Nathaniel Hiebert George Tomlinson Scholarship in Biochemistry     

    Rashad Jama Pinnacle Staffing Opportunity Scholarship     

    Bhavya Jindal The University of Winnipeg President's Scholarship for World Leaders     

    Avery Keen Alumni Entrance Scholarship     

    Yuliia Khudina Alberta Shearer Loeb Memorial Scholarship     

    Athena Koodoo Cecil Essadelle Rombough Memorial Entrance Scholarship     

    Jody Krahn Jeff Babb Scholarship in Statistics     

    Alexander Krosney The Donald Kerr Scholarship in Honours Physics     

    Bryanne Lamoureux Leo Mol Scholarship     

    Avery Letkemann The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarship for Outgoing Canadian Scholars - Undergraduate     

    Harsohal Singh Maan The University of Winnipeg President's Scholarship for World Leaders     

    Alexandra Mattocks Alice Chambers Forest Enhancement Scholarship     

    Georgia-Rae Maxwell Chancellor W. John A. Bulman Scholarship  Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarship - Housing  Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarship - Year 3

    Vanessa McKay Enbridge Pipelines Inc. Scholarship     

    Rebecca Mckay The Carla Moore Award - Undergraduate     

    Jeremy Nicholson Chancellor W. John A. Bulman Scholarship     

    Kayli Olynik Global College Leadership Scholarship     

    Angie Ortiz Toledo The Maria Graciete and Jose Correia Family Scholarship Year 2     

    Hodan Osman Pinnacle Staffing Opportunity Scholarship     

    Harshvi Patel Marsha P. Hanen Undergraduate Scholarship     

    Harsh Patel Ross A. Johnston Scholarship in Mathematics and Statistics  Westcoast Energy Inc. Scholarship in Applied Computer Science   

    Jeffrey Peitsch Advanced Placement Program Entrance Scholarship  Alumni Entrance Scholarship   

    Nathan Peters R. Fletcher Argue Scholarships     

    Deirdre Rooney Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarship  - Year 2     

    Vladislav Safronov Dr. George and Doris Johnson Entrance Scholarship     

    Gabriela Santos Silva Iva Stewart Leins Scholarship  Winnipeg Police Service Opportunity Scholarship in Memory of Injured and Fallen Officers - Year 2   

    Keegan Teetaert Walter Leatherdale Entrance Scholarship - Year 4     

    Tiana Tiede Jan and Fred Butler Scholarship     

    Lucy Todd R. Fletcher Argue Scholarships  The John Roberts Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Research   

    Grace Wallace Henry Edmison Duckworth Entrance Scholarship     

    Kathleen Watts Marsha P. Hanen Entrance Scholarship - Year 2     

    Alexandra Wiebe Sir William Stephenson Scholarship     

    Melanie William Dr. Randy Kobes Memorial Scholarship     

    Seonggeon Yun R. Fletcher Argue Scholarships     

 Message from the Dean

Doug Goltz Dr. Doug Goltz
Dean of Science, The University of Winnipeg

This year, I have had the opportunity to observe many examples of some of the amazing things that our students do in the Faculty of Science. Whether it was observing deer, measuring phosphate, or exploring combinatorics, our students participated in many research experiments, both in the laboratory and in the field. Occasionally they have been co-authors on published papers in refereed journals, and this year they presented their work in departmental seminars and the UWinnipeg Randy Kobes poster competition.

There are many different combinations of excellent qualities that support why each of you has, individually, been chosen for recognition. We are proud to support your academic efforts, whether you’re a forerunner, a high achiever, a researcher, or a hard worker. It gives me great pleasure to acknowledge your qualities and extend a well-deserved congratulations to all of our award-winning students in science.

Awards by Faculty


Business and Economics


Gupta Faculty of Kinesiology and Applied Health


Share your congratulations through our virtual guestbook!