Spring Convocation 2019

The University of Winnipeg


2019 Spring Convocation


Thursday, June 13 – 9:30 AM

Degrees conferred in Arts

Honorary Doctor of Laws conferred upon David Courchene and Ruth Christie

Thursday, June 13 – 2:30 PM

Degrees conferred upon Science, Business and Economics

Honorary Doctor of Science conferred upon Dr. John Mighton

Friday, June 14 – 9:30 AM

Degrees conferred in Theology, Education, Kinesiology, Physical and Health Education, and Marriage and Family Therapy

Honorary Doctor of Laws conferred upon Ida Bear and Annie Boulanger


**Please note: Doors will be closed 15 minutes prior to the start of the ceremony (9:15 am & 2:15 pm); doors will be re-opened after the Invocation portion of the program.

The University of Winnipeg’s First Convocation for the conferring of Bachelor degrees in Arts, Science, Divinity and Theology was held on Sunday, May 26, 1968.  The ceremony took place at Manitoba Centennial Centre Concert Hall with 367 students receiving degrees.  Since that time, we have proudly graduated over 50 000 students.

Chancellor Robert (Bob) Silver, President & Vice-Chancellor Dr. Annette Trimbee, the Board of Regents and members of the University Senate invite faculty, staff, family, friends and the public to honour the graduating class at the 2019 Spring Convocation. The entire University community also extends congratulations to the University's honorees, award recipients and graduating class.