University of Winnipeg | 50 Years Search

Buhler Centre official opening


AUGUST 26, 2010: The Buhler Centre at 460 Portage Avenue was named after philanthropists John and Bonnie Buhler for their sizeable donation that made the building possible.  It provided a new site for the rapidly growing Faculty of Business and Economics, as well as the Division of Continuing Education and the Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art.  The building’s unique design was a collaboration between David Penner, Peter Sampson Architecture Studio, and Neil Minuk of DIN Projects – it was awarded LEED Silver designation.

Many Winnipeggers will remember the United Army Surplus Store that used to stand on that block.  They moved into the property in 1950, although the building had been there since about 1939 as Stewart Electric.  In 2007, United Army Surplus declared bankruptcy.  The University originally planned to redevelop the historic shop rather than rebuild, until engineers discovered asbestos on the site.

< Back to Milestones