

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

MEMORANDUM

TO: Members of Senate

FROM: Colin Russell, Registrar, and Travis Greene, Associate Vice-

President (Student Engagement)

Co-Chairs, Senate Student Services Committee

RE: Senate Student Services Committee

Year-End Report and Awards Report

DATE: April 25, 2025

During the 2024-25 academic year, the Senate Student Services Committee:

- supported the adoption of a new Student Awards Policy. The new policy aims to give uniformity and coherence to student awards. The policy describes many of the University's standard procedures and reflects best practices in awards administration.
- on behalf of the committee, the Registrar presented to Senate lists of graduands for the June 2024, October 2024, and February 2025 Convocations
- on behalf of the committee, the Registrar presented to Senate the Degree and Major Statistics from February 2024, June 2024, and October 2024 Convocations
- approved 25 new awards and amendments to 7 awards:

New Awards

- Nancy Loadman Memorial Bursary
- Michael Sunley Continuing Student Award
- Harry, Cora, Gary, and Brian Ulph Family Opportunity Fund Bursary
- Dr. Victor Leathers Prize in Drama, Theatre & Performance (The Collegiate)
- Dr. Michael Paul Lukie Prize
- Stokke Scholarship for Excellence in Mathematics
- Joan Barbara Turek Scholarship for Women in STEM

- John & Roxanne Anderson Entrance Award
- O.T. Anderson Graduate Studies Scholarship
- Southern Chiefs' Organization 25th Anniversary Scholarship
- Criminal Justice Students' Association Indigenous Student Scholarship
- Michael Sydney Gray Scholarship
- Sarasvàti Productions Scholarship
- Corinne Burleigh Scholarship for Women in STEM
- Manitoba Blue Cross Accessibility Bursary
- Manitoba Blue Cross Entrance Award
- Manitoba Blue Cross Rural Travel Award
- Bill Wedlake Athletic Bursary
- Theatre and Film Access Bursary
- Harvey Travel Scholarship in French
- Alyson Shane Memorial Award in Rhetoric
- Doran Reid Memorial Award
- Harvey Scholarships for Collegiate Model School Students
- Kathleen F. Campbell Memorial Scholarship
- Physics Student Association Award

Amendments to Awards

- Mary Talbot Memorial Scholarship in Education
- Rev. Roger Alan Collegiate Bursary
- Mac Watts Bursary in Theology
- Hon. Theodore A. and Georgie Burrows Memorial Bursary
- Saul and Claribel Simkin Bursary
- The Aurora Staff Bursary
- Canadian Forces Theology Fund

We wish to thank the members of the Committee for their work this year, and extend particular thanks to Student Services Communications Coordinator, Lois Cherney, for her ever-capable assistance with the work of Senate Student Services.

Committee members:

Abrar Abdelmahmoud, UWSA Senator
Sana Amjad, Associate Registrar (Recruitment and Admissions)
Jeff Billeck, Kinesiology
Brandon Christopher, English
Ryan Filteau, Director of Awards and Financial Aid
Carolyn Garland, Graduate Studies
Gabrielle Prefontaine, Dean of the Library
Andrea Smith, Kinesiology
Harry Strub, Psychology