

## THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE RESEARCH POLICY COMMITTEE (the "Committee") April 14, 2025

The committee met four times in the past year over video conferencing.

Over the past year, the Committee discussed several key issues:

- The terms of reference for the Research Committee, including a discussion on the ongoing plan to reconstitute the Research Committee as the Research Adjudication Committee once the changes to the Senate Standing Rules have been enacted.
- The creation of tie-breaking procedures for student research awards and grants.
- The discontinuation of the internal Partnership Development Grant due to low subscription.
- The increase of the internal Discretionary Grant from \$1,000 to \$1,500 to accommodate the increasing research costs.
- The establishment of a new Undergraduate Student Research Award in the area of health and wellness.
- The requirement for internal grants is to begin following the newly developed Tri-Agency Narrative CV format, starting with applications in the 2025-26 fiscal year.
- The setting of a minimum salary for Postdoctoral Fellows at UW.
- A discussion on a new potential award for research that involves community impact.
- Revisions to the Distinguished Faculty Travel Award to broaden the definition of "keynote".
- The establishment of guidelines for childcare expenses on grants.
- Notice that the Research Office will take over the administration of a select number of student research opportunities from the Awards and Financial Aid office.

The Committee will meet quarterly (at a minimum) in the 2025-26 reporting year.

Future items to be reviewed by this committee are:

- The development of EDI requirements for internal research grants.
- A review of the internal grant funding priorities and a clearer model for assessing internal grants.
- The review of new awards, specifically for Indigenous researchers.

## Prepared by:

Lauren Bosc, Director, Research Services
Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation

On behalf of the Chair and members of the Senate Research Policy Committee, including:

Jitendra Paliwal (Chair)Iian SmytheHugh GrantConor WhatelyMelissa FunkeJustin Friesen

Sara Good