### <u>Preamble</u>

The Terms of Reference for the Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs can be found online at:

University of Manitoba - Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs (umanitoba.ca)

## **Observations**

# 1. Committee Membership (as of December 12, 2024):

Composition	Incumbents	Joint Masters Program	Institution	Term
The Chair or Co-Chair (or designate) of each of the Joint Masters Programs.	Ryan Eyford	History	Winnipeg	Ex-officio
	Sean Byrne	Peace & Conflict Studies	Manitoba	Ex-officio
	Susan Prentice	Public Administration	Manitoba	Ex-officio
	Yongshan He	Religion	Winnipeg	Ex-officio
Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies, or designate [University of Manitoba]	Dawn Sutherland, designate	Graduate Studies	Manitoba	Ex-officio
Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies (or designate) [University of Winnipeg]	Kyle Devine	Graduate Studies	Winnipeg	Ex-officio
Faculty members from outside the departments or disciplines participating in JMPs. The number of faculty member representation in this category shall be half the number of JMP faculty representation.	Richard Jochelson	Law	Manitoba	2025.05.31
	Brett Lougheed	Libraries & Archives	Winnipeg	2026.06.30
Chair to be named by the Presidents of the UofM and UofW, with a tie-casting vote only	Malcolm Bird	Arts	Winnipeg	2027.05.31
One graduate student enrolled in the JMP to be proposed by the GSA and approved by U of M Senate	vacant	Graduate Studies		

One graduate student enrolled in the JMP to be proposed by the Chairs of the JMP and approved by U of W Senate	Zachariah Code	Graduate Studies	Winnipeg	2025.04.30	
--	----------------	---------------------	----------	------------	--

#### 2. Meeting of January 21, 2025:

Effective June 1, 2024 to May 31, 2027, the Chairship and administrative support of the Joint Senate Committee (JSC) transitioned to the University of Winnipeg. The January 21<sup>st</sup> meeting welcomed new members, provided updates on the revised composition and terms of reference of the JSC, and informed the committee of the sub-committee's ongoing revisions to the *Joint Senate Committee Regulations Governing the Joint Master's Programs*. The meeting also included updates from each of the Joint Master's Programs (JMPs).

Additional discussions focused on the anticipated cap on graduate Provincial Attestation Letters (PALs), challenges faced by University of Winnipeg members in accessing Slate and Aurora (University of Manitoba systems), and a brief discussion regarding the requirement for University of Winnipeg adjunct status.

#### 3. Sub-Committee Meeting of February 24, 2025:

A revised sub-committee of the JSC—comprising Malcolm Bird, Kyle Devine, and Dawn Sutherland, with administrative support from Andrea Kailer (University of Manitoba) and Kent Suss (University of Winnipeg)—met to continue discussions on proposed changes to the *Joint Senate Committee Regulations Governing the Joint Master's Programs*. Revisions to the document are ongoing and will be brought back to the subcommittee for further review.

#### 4. Future Meetings

The JSC is expected to meet again in June 2025.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Malcolm Bird, Chair Joint Senate Committee