## THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE HONORARY DEGREES AND FELLOWSHIPS COMMITTEE (the "Committee")

(the "Committee") MAY 23, 2025

The Committee met twice since the last annual report was submitted. New nominations for Honorary Degrees and Professor Emeritus designations were reviewed and recommendations were made to Senate for their approval. The Committee also reviewed nominations for the Distinguished Alumni Award, and recommended approval of same to the Alumni Council.

In an effort to elevate the prominence of Distinguished Alumni Awards, the Committee was advised that the Alumni Association will be reviewing nominations in-house, going forward. Distinguished Alumni Awards will be transitioned from being awarded at Convocation to a separate celebratory event. Three alumni awards will now be given to commemorate outstanding achievements of alumni throughout various stages of their careers. The first stand-alone event is set to take place in October of this year.

The timing of conferring honours is determined by the President, and depends on many factors, including availability of recipients. Nominees are generally selected to receive their award during a Convocation which focuses on their area of expertise or distinguished service.

## Prepared by:

The Office of the University Secretary, on behalf of the Chair and members of the Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee

Mary Adedayo
Brent Corrigan
Kimberley Ducey
Michael Dudley
Susan Ewanika
Jane Forsey
Helen Lepp Friesen
Emma Hill Kepron
Bruce Miller
Todd Mondor (Chair)
Pavlina Radia
Kenneth Reimer
Harry Strub
Sanoji Wijenayake