Report of the Senate Budget Review Committee 2024-2025

The Senate Budget Review Committee was formed in 2011. Its membership is:

- Vice-President (Academic) [co-Chair]
- Vice-President (Finance and Administration) [co-Chair]
- One Dean or Associate Dean
- Two Senators
- Eight faculty members
- One UWSA senator

Members of the committee in 2024-2025 were:

Navinder Basra (co-chair), Pavlina Radia (co-chair), Hugh Grant, Bruce Bolster, Justin Friesen, Yongshan He, Peter Miller, Sarah Heath, Aaron Moore, Scott Forbes, Yaser Al Mtawa

The responsibilities of the Committee were:

1. to consider and provide advice to Senate with respect to the academic and research implications of budgetary issues, having regard for Senate's responsibility for academic policy, and the President's responsibility to present an annual budget to the Board of Regents for approval.

2. to analyze preliminary budget and estimates documents from the perspective of academic priorities, having regard for the University's academic mission.

3. to meet regularly, at appropriate times, with the President's budget team, as the budget is developed over the course of each year, in order to provide timely input and contribute to the budgetary process.

The Committee met on October 4, 2024 and March 3, 2025. Among the discussion topics during the Committee's deliberations were:

- Overview of Terms of Reference & Alignment
- Budget Update
- Discussion and Interim Measures
- Presentation of the Draft Budget 2025-2026