

Office of the Provost and Vice-President, Academic

Centennial Hall
Room 3C17, 3rd Floor
515 Portage Avenue
P 204.786.9316
E provost@uwinnipeg.ca

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE ACADEMIC PLANNING COMMITTEE (the "Committee") 2024-2025

The Academic Planning Committee forwarded to Senate for its consideration the following program requirement change proposals:

- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Statistics
- Discontinue Offering Supervised Pastoral Education at the University of Winnipeg
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Biology
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Rhetoric, Writing and Communications
- Creation of a Minor in Chemistry
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Chemistry
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Applied Computer Science
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Criminal Justice
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Disability Studies
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Theatre and Film
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Psychology
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Kinesiology and Applied Health
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Anthropology
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Linguistics
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Neuroscience
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Psychology
- Graduate Studies Proposals:
 - Cultural Studies program change to make GCST 7105 a required course for students in both streams (Curatorial Practice, and Texts and Cultures).
 - Curriculum Package for the new PhD Program "Doctor of Philosophy In Bioscience and Policy."
 - Program Change: removal of comprehensive exam component from Coursework Stream in the Joint Master Program in Religion.
 - Joint Master Program in History: four course revisions and the deletion of one course that was previously required for Cultural Studies students in the Curatorial Practices Stream.
 - Curatorial Studies two new courses, including one which will be a required course for students in the Curatorial Practice Stream (program change: new required course).

In 2024-2025, the membership of the Committee was comprised of the Vice-President (Academic) (Chair), Vice-President (Research and Innovation), three Deans or Associate Deans, Registrar (non-voting), two academic members of the Senate Curriculum Committee, one being the Chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee, eight faculty members, two from each of the four areas, one UWSA Senator.

Dr. Pavlina Radia, Chair, Provost and Vice-President, Academic

Dr. Jitendra Paliwal, Vice-President, Research and Innovation

Dr. Hugh Grant, Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics

Dr. Laurie-Anne Hellsten, Dean, Faculty of Education

Dr. Tracy Whalen, Dean, Faculty of Arts

Colin Russell, Registrar

Dr. Harinder Aujla, Chair, Curriculum Committee

Dr. Stephen Penner, Member, Curriculum Committee

Dr. Pauline Ripat, Faculty Member-Humanities

Dr. Mavis Reimer, Faculty Member-Humanities

Dr. Michael Weinrath, Faculty Member-Social Sciences

Heather Souter, Faculty Member-Social Sciences

Dr. Jennifer Jeffrey, Faculty Member-Sciences

Karina Kachur, Faculty Member-Sciences Dr. Fabrizio DiMuro, Faculty Member at Large Michael Dudley, Faculty Member at Large Chhavi Dhir, UWSA Senator

Term ended for the following:

Dr. Ryan Eyford

Dr. Patricia Fitzpatrick

Dr. Heather Milne

Dr. Tetyana Narozhna

Dr. Heather Krepski

Debbie Mortimer

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Pavlina Radia

Chair, Senate Academic Planning Committee

Provost and Vice-President, Academic