

OFFICE OF THE REGISTRAR

MEMORANDUM

TO: Members of Senate

FROM: Colin Russell, Chair, Senate Student Services Committee

RE: Senate Student Services Committee Year-End Report and Awards Report

DATE: April 29, 2022

During the 2021-22 year, the Senate Student Services Committee:

- brought forward, reviewed and revised the 2022-23 Academic Dates for approval
- approved the Duolingo English Test as an accepted measure of English Language Proficiency for undergraduate and graduate admission, with a minimum score of 115, for the Winter 2022 intake
- approved the IELTS Indicator online test as an accepted measure of English Language Proficiency for undergraduate and graduate admission, with a minimum overall band score of 7.0, for the Winter 2022 intake
- received information that the CanTEST English language proficiency test is being discontinued; we will no longer accept results of the test after February 8, 2022
- approved the Duolingo English Test as a permanent accepted measure of English Language Proficiency for undergraduate and graduate admission, with a minimum score of 120
- presented options to Senate for dealing with the cancellation of classes at the start of Winter Term 2022 (due to the surging Omicron variant)
- on behalf of the committee, the Registrar presented to Senate lists of graduands for the June 2021, October 2021, and February 2022 Convocations
- on behalf of the committee, the Registrar presented to Senate Degree and Major Statistics from February 2021, June 2021, and October 2021 Convocations
- approved 28 new awards and 11 amendments

New Awards

Andris Taskans Memorial Award for Creative Writing

The Schroeder Foundation Scholarship

Henry Mak Memorial Award

The Leo Panitch Community Outreach Award at Merchants Corner

The Leo Panitch Award at Merchants Corner

Dr. Tanya Elez Bursary

Dr. Mary Warmbrod Bursary

John R. Smyth Bursary

Cameron Family Scholarship in Economics

Maddison Yetman Hope Scholarship

Howie Goldberg Memorial Award

Empowerment Scholarship

Dr. Annette Trimbee Indigenous Excellence Scholarship

Barry and Lynn Jones Wesmen Athletic Scholarship

Dr. John Hofley Entrance Award

Dr. Wilfred C. Lockhart Memorial Scholarship

Lorette Lajoie Collegiate Memorial Scholarship

Dave Torz Memorial Prize

Roberta Rosenberg Dean's Continuing Scholarship (Collegiate)

BMO Opportunity Fund Bursary

Manitoba Association of Mathematics Teachers Scholarship in Education

Robert Thomas Byrnes Prize in Rhetoric and Composition

Matthew Pearce Thordarson Convocation Prize

Bonnycastle Opportunity Fund Bursary

Susan Thompson Scholarship

Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce Commitment to Opportunity, Diversity and Equity (CODE)

Award

Hong Kong Canada Business Association (HKCBA) Travel Award

Jim August Memorial Opportunity Fund Bursary

Amendments to Awards

Bill Evans Scholarship in Biology

Dr. & Mrs. Roderick Hunter Scholarship

English speaking Union Prize

James G. Oborne Scholarship

Sir William Stephenson Scholarship

Study Abroad Award

Randy Kobes Poster Contest Prize

Connor Clark Lunn Book Prize in Continuing Education

Angela E. Davis Memorial Prize

Garnet Kyle Scholarship

Frederick Bancroft Memorial Prize in Canada

I wish to thank the members of the Committee for their work this year, and extend particular thanks to Student Services Communications Coordinator, Lois Cherney, for her ever-capable assistance with the work of Senate Student Services.