## Preamble

The Terms of Reference for the Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs can be found online at:

University of Manitoba - Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs (umanitoba.ca)

## **Observations**

## 1. Committee Membership (as of October 18, 2021):

Dr. Royce Koop	Political Studies, UM,		
	Chair		
Dr. Randall Jamieson,	Graduate Studies, UM, ex	Dr. Mavis Reimer	Graduate Studies, UW, ex
designate	officio		officio
Dr. Sean Byrne	Peace & Conflict Studies,	Dr. Conor Whately Classics, UW	
	UM	Dr. Conor whatery	Classics, OVV
Dr. Mark Libin	English, Theatre, Film &	Dr. Darlene Abreu-	History, UW
	Media, UM	Ferreira	
Dr. Andrea Rounce	Political Studies, UM	Dr. Eliakim Sibanda	Peace & Conflict Studies,
			UW
Vacant	Graduate Studies, UM	Vacant	Graduate Studies, UW
	Student Rep		Student Rep

## 2. Joint Senate Committee Meeting of March 4, 2022:

The Master of Public Administration representative provided an update with respect to the program's second-cycle graduate program review from 2019-2020; what short-term recommendations have been implemented and what long-term updates and challenges are still outstanding. Once the program's new Chair commences their term on July 1, 2022 the program will revisit the long-term governance changes addressed in the review which had to be put on hold during the pandemic.

The Peace & Conflict Studies and Public Administration JMP representatives provided in-program and admission statistics, respectively. History and Religion representatives were unfortunately not present at this meeting and therefore did not provide statistics/program updates.

The JSC will be considering changes to its terms of reference at future meetings. Members have been asked to contemplate how the JSC may better support JMPs individually and collectively.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Royce Koop, Chair Joint Senate Committee