

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE THE SENATE ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT APPEALS COMMITTEE 2021-2022

As Chair of the Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee, I submit the following Report to Senate for the 2021-2022 academic year.

In 2021-2022, the membership of the Committee consisted of:

Jan Stewart, Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic (Chair)

Lesley Eblie Trudel, Dean or Associate Dean, not the Chair or member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Kim Loeb, Executive Director, PACE

Samantha Cook, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Carl Heaman-Warne, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Luc Clair, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Matt Dyce, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Pauline Ripat, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Desiree Vanderwel, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee

Term Ended June 30, 2021: David Telles-Langdon Valerie Pelleck Michelle Bertrand Kristin Lovrien-Meuwese

The Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee dealt with 17 cases of academic misconduct. The Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee upheld the findings of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee for 14 cases. In the other cases, two students had their suspensions removed due to procedural issues. One student received a suspension after additional material was presented to the Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee.

This year saw a rise in the number of academic misconduct appeals. In 2018, two cases were heard; in 2019, 3 cases were heard, and 2020 also heard 3 cases.

Respectfully submitted,

- Stewart

Dr. Jan Stewart

Interim Chair, Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee

Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic