

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE ACADEMIC PLANNING COMMITTEE (the "Committee") 2020-2021

The Academic Planning Committee met on a monthly basis and forwarded to Senate for its consideration the following program, course, and regulation proposals:

- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Proposal Business and Administration
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Kinesiology and Applied Health
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Statistics
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: History
- Indigenous Languages Thematic Major For Information
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: East Asian Languages and Cultures (EALC)
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Suspension of 4-year Major in German Studies.
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: BA Indigenous Languages
- Move the Development Studies Program from the Faculty of Arts to the Faculty of Education
- Revisions to Comparative Literature and German Studies Programs
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Indigenous Studies
- MAIG Comprehensive Exam Stream Proposal For Information
- Change to Major/Degree Requirements: Business and Administration
- Changes to Major/Degree Requirements: Sociology

In 2020-2021, the membership of the Committee was comprised of the Vice-President (Academic) (Chair), Vice-President (Research and Innovation), three Deans or Associate Deans, Registrar (non-voting), two academic members of the Senate Curriculum Committee, one being the Chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee, eight faculty members, two from each of the four areas, - one UWSA Senator

Jan Stewart, Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic – Interim Chair Jino Distasio, Vice-President, Research and Innovation Hugh Grant, Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics Laurie-Ann Hellsten, Dean, Faculty of Education Doug Goltz, Dean, Faculty of Science Colin Russell, Registrar Simon Berge, Co-Chair, Curriculum Committee Michael Dudley, Co-Chair, Curriculum Committee Andrea Bedard, Member of the Curriculum Committee Brandon Christopher, Faculty Member-Humanities Hope McIntyre, Faculty Member-Humanities Kelly Gorkoff, Faculty Member-Social Sciences Pauline Pearson, Faculty Member-Social Sciences Paul Holloway, Faculty Member-Sciences Jamie Ritch, Faculty Member- Sciences Michael Hohner, Faculty Member at Large

Vacant, Faculty Member at Large

Term Ended June 30, 2020:

Glenn Moulaison

Tracy Whalen

Matthew Flisfeder

Royden Loewen

Rosalie Harms

Melanie Gregg

Curtis Pankratz

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Jan Stewart

Interim Chair, Senate Academic Planning Committee

Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic