## Report of the Senate Budget Review Committee 2017-2018

The Senate Budget Review Committee was formed in 2011. Its membership is:

- Vice-President (Academic) [co-Chair] James Currie
- Vice-President (Finance and Administration) [co-Chair] Michael Emslie
- One Dean or Associate Dean Hugh Grant (Acting)
- Two Senators Judith Huebner, Phil Cyrenne
- Eight faculty members Tim Babcock, Peter Miller, Aaron Moore, Heidi Rimke, Athar Ata,
   Shannon Ezzat, James Townsend, Debbie Mortimer
- One UWSA senator Morgan Brightnose

The responsibilities of the Committee were:

- to consider and provide advice to Senate with respect to the academic and research implications
  of budgetary issues, having regard for Senate's responsibility for academic policy, and the
  President's responsibility to present an annual budget to the Board of Regents for approval;
- 2. to analyze preliminary budget and estimates documents from the perspective of academic priorities, having regard for the University's academic mission;
- 3. to meet regularly, at appropriate times, with the President's budget team, as the budget is developed over the course of each year, in order to provide timely input and contribute to the budgetary process.

The Committee met on April 27, 2017, November 15, 2017 and April 12, 2018

Among the discussion topics during the Committee's deliberations were:

- Approach to 2017-2018 budget
- Financial results for 2016-2017
- Content of 2018-2019 budget prior to its approval by the Board of Regents
- The best allocation of resources to support student success
- The optimal allocation of student financial support and how to support students with higher financial, social, or academic needs
- The 2018-2019 budget primer presentation
- The 2018-2021 three year budget strategy