Academic Working Group on Sustainability

Annual Report 2016-2017

5/5/2017



Members of the Academic Working Group on Sustainability 2015-16

Devin Latimer – Chemistry

Lee Anne Block - Education

Alan Diduck – Environmental Studies & Sciences

Andrew Park - Biology

Alana Lajoie-O'Malley - Campus Sustainability Office (Chair, Administrative Support)

Joseph Wasylycia-Leis – Campus Sustainability Office (Administrative Support)

Overview of Activities

The Academic Working Group met once as a stand-alone committee and participated in two meetings with the broader Campus Sustainability Council in the winter term to provide input and feedback into the University's updated Sustainability Strategy. The updated Strategy was presented to Senate at the May senate meeting and includes plans for a more robust Academic Working Group moving forward with a more clearly defined role in supporting the implementation of the academic elements of the new Strategy. A request for new committee members for the coming year has been circulated to department Chairs, with the aim of securing representatives from a broader range of departments in the year ahead.