MEMORANDUM

TO:	Members of Senate
FROM:	James Currie, Chair, Senate Student Services
RE:	Senate Student Services Committee Year-End Report and Awards Report
DATE:	May 3, 2017

During the 2016-17 year, the Senate Student Services Committee:

- Brought forward the 2017-2018 academic dates for approval and twice subsequently for amendments
- Selected recipients of the 2016 June Convocation Awards (the O.T. Anderson Award, the Stars of Spence Street Award, The Mayor's Medal, and the Bhai Kahan Singh Nabha Prize)
- Brought forward a recommendation that the voluntary withdrawal deadline be moved from approximately 60% of the way through a course to approximately 75% of the way through a course
- Brought forward Degree and Major Statistics for information, from the February 2016, June 2016, and October 2016 Convocations
- On behalf of the Committee, the Registrar presented lists of graduands, and students failing to qualify, for the June 2016, October 2016, and February 2017 Convocations
- Approved 22 new awards and 14 amendments

New Awards

The Adrienne and Brian Katz Family Collegiate Scholarship David Shefford Senior's Scholarship Disability Studies Scholarship Dr. Tobasonakwut Kinew Scholarship for Culture, History and Language Educational Assistant Diploma Program Bursary (PACE) Friesen-Wendl Corrections Memorial Scholarship Geography Graduate Supervisory Scholarship Grand Master Bae's Black Tigers Martial Arts Academy Scholarship JMP Assistant Scholarship Joanne Ross Sutherland Bursary Kinesiology and Athletic Therapy Students Association (KATSA) Scholarship Masters in ERDE Prize The Philipp Scholarship Pinnacle Staffing Model School Bursary Randy Kobes Poster Contest Prize Ray Pedersen Bursary in Geography The Red River Cooperative Scholarship in support of Cooperative Studies Research Manitoba Graduate Scholarship Suzanne St. Yves Amani Peace Award The University of Winnipeg Golden Key Chapter Convocation Scholarship The University of Winnipeg Golden Key Chapter In-Course Scholarship Yellow Dog Soccer Bursary

Amendments

Celia and Philip Samuel Rogers Memorial Scholarship CGA Grad Prize in Business and Administration CMA Prize in Cost Accounting CMA Scholarship in Managerial Accounting Danny Bubis Cycling Scholarship Grant Thornton LLP Scholarship Kinesiology and Athletic Therapy Students Association (KATSA) Scholarship "The Mabel and Jack" Marilou Slatcher McPhedran Tribute Bursary Maria Gomori Bursary MMFT Alumni Bursary Ray Pedersen Prize in Geography Scholarship for QE II Jubilee Incoming Commonwealth Scholars Scholarship for QE II Jubilee outgoing Canadian Scholars Society of Management Accounting (CMA) Scholarship

I wish to thank the members of the Committee for their work this year, and extend particular thanks to Student Services Communications Coordinator, Lois Cherney, for her ever-capable assistance with the work of Senate Student Services.