THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (the "Committee")

(tne "Committee" MAY 24, 2017

A Call for Nominations to Senate was circulated on April 25, 2016, with an election following for contested positions. Pursuant to the Senate Standing Rules, the Committee issued a Call for Nominations to Senate Committees positions on June 1, 2016. Elections were held for contested positions, and results were subsequently distributed via email to the University community. A call for volunteers for residual vacancies was circulated on June 17, 2016.

In order to fill two Arts positions coming vacant as of January 1, 2017, a Call for Nominations to Senate was distributed on November 1, 2016. These two positions were filled by acclamation. A Call for Nominations to Senate Committees was circulated on November 23, 2016. Elections were held for contested positions, with the results being announced via email.

A Call for Nominations to Senate was circulated on May 1, 2017 and results were announced on May 16, 2017. An election for contested positions followed. A Call for Nominations to Senate Committees is currently underway. All calls and reports were sent out by the Office of the University Secretary and General Counsel. A full list of Senators and Senate Committee membership is distributed annually to Senate members. This list is updated and posted on The University of Winnipeg website.

In the interim periods, the Committee worked to fill positions on Senate Committees that remained vacant or were vacated due to resignations - in some cases by accepting nominations and in others by nominating individuals. Senate is reminded that pursuant to the Standing Rules, individuals may self-nominate for any vacant position once a call for nominations has been issued.

On December 21, 2016, Senate approved a recommendation of the Ad Hoc Committee on Senate Standing Rules, that the role of the Nominating Committee be undertaken by the University Secretary, effective May 1, 2017.

Prepared by:

The Office of the University Secretary, on behalf of the Chair and members of the Nominating Committee

Bruce Bolster (Chair) Delia Gavrus Lloyd Kornelsen Melanie O'Gorman Mirjana Roksandic