Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs Annual Report April 19 2017

I submit the following report on the work of the Joint Senate Committee on Master's Programs between the University of Manitoba and the University of Winnipeg from May 2016 through April 2017.

Membership

Zana Lutfiyya Chair of the JSC

Director, Peace and Conflict Studies

Todd Mondor Acting Vice Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean (FGS)

University of Manitoba

Ex-officio

Diane Hiebert-Murphy Dean Designate, FGS

University of Manitoba (until June 30, 2016)

Brooke Milne Dean Designate, FGS

University of Manitoba (as of July 1, 2016)

Sean Byrne Peace and Conflict Studies, University of Manitoba

Director, the Arthur V. Mauro Centre for Peace & Justice

Andrea Rounce Political Studies, University of Manitoba

Mark Libin English, Film & Theatre, University of Manitoba

Christina Reinke University of Manitoba graduate student representative

IMP Peace & Conflict Studies

Mavis Reimer Dean, FGS, University of Winnipeg

Malcolm Bird Political Science, University of Winnipeg

Andrew Burke English, University of Winnipeg

Anne Caudano History, University of Winnipeg

Vacant University of Winnipeg graduate student representative

Deanna England Graduate Studies Officer, University of Winnipeg

Pam Yarushinsky Interim Programs Coordinator, FGS, University of

Manitoba (until October 18, 2016)

Andrea Kailer Programs Coordinator, FGS, University of Manitoba (as

of October 19, 2016)

Committee Activities for 2016-2017

- The JSC met on September 6 and October 31, 2016 and voted via e-mail on February 24, 2017;
- UM and UW Senates approved Revised Joint Masters Program Governing Regulations (Fall 2016);
- JSC approved Peace & Conflict Studies Supplemental Regulations (February 2017);
- JSC approved Public Administration admission criteria (to be consistent with minimum FGS requirements) (February 2017)
- Commencement of Public Administration second-cycle graduate program review (self-evaluation report due to FGS in Spring 2018)

Upcoming Activities

• JSC evaluation of second-cycle JMP (M.A.) History review (report to be written by JSC Chair in Fall 2017)

Respectfully submitted by Zana Lutfiyya Chair, JSC University of Manitoba