## THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE HONORARY DEGREES AND FELLOWSHIPS COMMITTEE (the "Committee") MAY 24, 2017

The Senate Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee met once since the last annual report was submitted. The Committee reviewed new nominations and made recommendations to Senate for their approval. Upcoming Convocations were discussed, and suggestions made for the timing of conferring honours, which is ultimately determined by the President, and depends on many factors, including availability of recipients. Nominees are generally selected to receive their award during a Convocation which focuses on their area of expertise or distinguished service.

There continues to be a list of nominees approved by the Senate, but who have not received their honorary degree or fellowship. Given the substantial number of nominees on this list, following a review of retention practices at other institutions, the Committee recommended to Senate that once approved, nominations remain valid for a period of five years. Senate approved this recommendation on January 26, 2017. The Committee implemented this recommendation, by reviewing the list of approved nominations, and removing nominations where appropriate.

## Prepared by:

The Office of the University Secretary, on behalf of the Chair and members of the Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee

Darlene Abreu-Ferreira Sylvie Albert John Anchan Rob Bend Neil Besner Sarah Bezan Danny Blair James Currie Sadie-Phoenix Lavoie **Brett Lougheed** Glenn Moulaison Elaine Phillips Gabrielle Prefontaine Susan Reid Mavis Reimer Heidi Rimke Joni Storie Annette Trimbee (Chair)