

Office of the Deputy Provost and Associate Vice-President, Academic **Rice Centre** Room 2Ri04, 2nd Floor 491 Portage Avenue

P 204.786.9316 E ja.stewart@uwinnipeg.ca

MEMORANDUM

TO:	Members of Senate
FROM:	Dr. Jan Stewart, Chair, Senate Student Services Committee
RE:	Senate Student Services Committee – Year-end Report & Awards Report
DATE:	April 28, 2020

During the 2019-20 year, the Senate Student Services Committee:

- approved the addition of "World of Religions: A Canadian Perspective 40S" to the Senate Approved List, from which courses are selected to calculate the average for admission to the Faculty of Education
- approved the addition of the Duolingo test to the University's accepted measures of English Language Proficiency, with a minimum score of 115, for Fall 2020 and Winter 2021 admission
- provided feedback on a draft of the new Accommodation Policy and Procedures
- provided feedback on the changes proposed to the evaluation of Academic Status
- approved the changes proposed to the Faculty of Education's Expanded Admission Policy and presented to Senate for information
- approved the selection for the 2019 Convocation Medals, Prizes and Awards
- brought forward the 2020-21 Academic Dates for approval
- brought forward degree and major statistics for information
- on behalf of the committee, the Registrar presented lists of graduands to Senate for the June 2019, October 2019 and February 2020 Convocations
- approved 14 new awards and amended 13 existing awards

New Awards

AP & IB Transfer Credit Scholarship Rodrigue Baccus Award Supporting Diversity in Finance Kunstatter Family Bursary in Physics Mr. & Mrs. Ong Hoo Hong Award for Creative Writing Joanne Ross Sutherland 4th Year Bursary in Economics Jim Silver Award Henry Enns International Disabilities Rights Scholarship The McIntyre Prize Rose Nolan Scholarship Criminal Justice Master's Scholarship The Santesso Prize Student to Student Award President's Distinguished Graduate Student Scholarship Ron Norton Prize in Psychology

Amendments

Buhler Economics Major Scholarship Buhler Scholarship in Business and Economics Charles Beckley Scholarship in Economics Professor Gordon G. Blake Memorial Scholarship in Economics W.W. Buchanan Economics Major Prize President's Scholarship for World Leaders – Undergraduate Opportunity Fund Joanne Ross Sutherland 2nd Year Bursary in Economics Joanne Ross Sutherland 3rd Year Bursary in Economics Marcia Anne Faurer / Peter Bennett Scholarship in Geography Humboldt Scholarship in Geography Victor Dolmage Memorial Scholarship in Geography Susan L. Rogers Scholarship in Geography

I wish to thank the members of the committee for their work this year, and extend particular thanks to Student Services Communications Coordinator, Lois Cherney, for her ever-capable assistance with the work of Senate Student Services.

Jan Skuwart