

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE ACADEMIC PLANNING COMMITTEE (the "Committee") 2019-2020

The Academic Planning Committee met on a monthly basis and forwarded to Senate for its consideration the following program, course, and regulation proposals:

- Master's in Development Practice: Indigenous Development (MDP)
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements in Mathematics
- PhD in Bioscience and Policy
- Credit and Transferable Courses Taught by Non-Academic Units (For Information)
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements in Education
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements: Religion and Culture
- External Review of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics (For Information)
- Site Visit for Chemistry and Biochemistry Programs (For Information)
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements in Religion and Culture and East Asian Languages and Cultures (ELAC)
- New Data Science Stream in Mathematics and Statistics
- Proposal for a Thematic Major in Indigenous Languages
- Changes to Course Listings section for Menno Simons College in Conflict Resolution Studies and International Development Studies (For Information)
- Extending Suspension of the IDS Honours Program
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements in French and Spanish
- Changes to Major Degree Requirements in Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications
- Centre for Transnational Mennonite Studies, Terms of Reference (For Information)
- Proposal for a CiAP Certificate
- Proposal for a Research Centre in Cooperative Enterprises

In 2019-2020, the membership of the Committee was comprised of the Vice-President (Academic) (Chair), Vice-President (Research and Innovation), 3 Deans or Associate Deans, Registrar (non-voting), two academic members of the Senate Curriculum Committee, one being the Chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee, eight faculty members, two from each of the four areas, - one UWSA Senator.

James Currie, Provost and Vice President (Academic) - Chair Jino Distasio, Vice-President, Research and Innovation Glenn Moulaison, Dean, Faculty of Arts Hugh Grant, Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics Doug Goltz, Dean, Faculty of Science Colin Russell, Registrar Simon Berge, Co-Chair, Curriculum Committee Tracy Whalen, Co-Chair, Curriculum Committee Matthew Flisfeder, Faculty Member-Humanities Royden Loewen, Faculty Member-Humanities Kelly Gorkoff, Faculty Member-Social Sciences Pauline Pearson, Faculty Member-Social Sciences Paul Holloway, Faculty Member-Sciences Jamie Ritch, Faculty Member- Sciences Rosalie Harms, Faculty Member at Large Melanie Gregg, Faculty Member at Large

Respectfully submitted,

Domes Curie

Dr. James Currie Chair, Senate Academic Planning Committee Provost and Vice-President, Academic