

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG

THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE THE SENATE ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT APPEALS COMMITTEE 2019-2020

As Chair of the Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee, I submit the following Report to Senate for the 2019-2020 academic year.

In 2019-2020, the membership of the Committee consisted of:

James Currie, Provost and Vice-President, Academic (Chair) Hugh Grant, Dean or Associate Dean, not the Chair or member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee Kim Loeb, Executive Director, PACE Carlton Duguay, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee David Telles-Langdon, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee Kristin Lovrien-Meuwese, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee Michelle Bertrand, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee Valerie Pelleck, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee Valerie Pelleck, Faculty member of Senate, not a member of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee UWSA Senator, Mahlet Cuff

The Committee dealt with three cases of plagiarism. The Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee upheld the findings of the Academic Standards and Misconduct Committee. Two students received an F(0) in their courses and suspended for the Fall 2019 term. The third student received an F(0) in the course and was suspended for the Fall 2019 term and Winter 2020 term.

Respectfully submitted,

James Currie

Dr. James Currie Chair, Senate Academic Misconduct Appeals Committee Provost and Vice-President, Academic