Academic Working Group on Sustainability

Annual Report 2015-2016

5/5/2016



Members of the Academic Working Group on Sustainability 2015-16

Devin Latimer – Chemistry

Royden Loewen – History/Mennonite Studies

Lee Anne Block - Education

Alan Diduck – Environmental Studies & Sciences

Andrew Park - Biology

Alana Lajoie-O'Malley - Campus Sustainability Office (Chair, Administrative Support)

Alexander Wieb – Campus Sustainability Office (Administrative Support)

Overview of Activities

Early in this academic year, the University released its new Strategic Directions and launched an Integrated Academic and Research Plan.

To this end, over the 2015-2016 year, the Academic Working Group on Sustainability's main work was to provide a written submission to the IARP process that built on the results of research conducted last year. This submission and its appendices are included as attachments. The Working Group also began planning a workshop on teaching ecological literacy that is tentatively scheduled for the fall of 2016.

The Working Group met four times over the course of the year to develop its submission to the IARP process, to provide feedback on the IARP process, and to continue to share strategies for integrating sustainability into UWinnipeg's curriculum.

The Working Group will re-convene in the new academic year and consider its work within the context of the new Integrated Academic and Research Plan.