THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE HONORARY DEGREES AND FELLOWSHIPS COMMITTEE

(the "Committee") MAY 21, 2014

The Senate Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee met four times since the last annual report was submitted. The Committee reviewed new nominations and made recommendations to Senate for their approval. Upcoming Convocations were discussed, and suggestions made for the timing of conferring honours, which is ultimately determined by the President, and depends on many factors, including availability of recipients. Nominees are generally selected to receive their award during a Convocation which focuses on their area of expertise or distinguished service.

Due to time constraints, the Committee approved one recommendation via email, that being the creation of the 100th Convocation Award. This recommendation was forwarded on to the Senate Executive Committee.

In addition to the Spring and Fall Convocation ceremonies, two additional Special Convocations were held during which honorary degrees were conferred.

There continues to be a list of nominees approved by the Senate, but who have not received their honorary degree or fellowship.

Prepared by:

The Office of the University Secretary and General Counsel, on behalf of the Chair and members of the Senate Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee

Sylvie Albert Emma Alexander-Mudaliar Vassan Aruljothi Lloyd Axworthy (Chair) Rob Bend Neil Besner Bill Buhay Lee Chitty James Currie David Fitzpatrick Craig Lee Kim Loeb Ken McCluskey Glenn Moulaison Gabrielle Prefontaine Susan Reid Mavis Reimer Kevin Walby