THE UNIVERSITY OF WINNIPEG SENATE ANNUAL REPORT OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (the "Committee") MAY 21. 2014

The Senate Executive Committee met ten times since the last annual report.

The Committee reviewed the proposed Agenda and background materials for all Senate meetings, and determined what business was ready to be submitted to Senate, or what required more study or consultation at the Committee level.

Business submitted to Senate on behalf of this Committee included recommending a slate of committee members for the Nominating Committee, as well as recommending amendments to the Senate Standing Rules. These amendments included replacing the ex officio position of Vice-President (Research and International) on the Academic Planning and Executive Committees with the ex officio position of Associate Vice-President (Research and Innovation), as well as reducing the voting period during Senate and Senate Committee elections, from two weeks to one week.

The Committee also brought forward to Senate a proposal with respect to celebrating individuals who have contributed to the success of the University, at its 100th Convocation Ceremony. In addition to honoring these individuals, it was proposed that this occasion be used to highlight the role of higher education in the Province of Manitoba, as 2013 was the 20th anniversary of the publication of the Report of the University Education Review Commission. The Committee received a recommendation from the Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee, in August, 2013, to create a 100th Convocation Award. Due to time constraints, a full meeting of Senate was unable to be convened, and the Committee approved the creation of the 100th Convocation Award on behalf of Senate. This item was brought to the September 20, 2013 meeting of Senate, for information.

Due to a lack of Agenda items, the February 24, 2014 Senate meeting was cancelled. The Committee exercised its power to act on behalf of Senate, and approved what agenda items had been submitted. These agenda items were presented to Senate at its meeting of March 27, 2014, for information.

Prepared by:

The Office of the University Secretary and General Counsel, on behalf of the Chair and members of the Executive Committee

Sylvie Albert
Lloyd Axworthy (Chair)
Neil Besner
Bruce Bolster
James Currie
Linda Dietrick
Jino Distasio
David Fitzpatrick
Megan Fultz
Wendy Josephson
Kirsten Kramar
Ken McCluskey
Glenn Moulaison
Mavis Reimer
Eliakim Sibanda