fb pixel

2020-21 English-Speaking Union Prize Recipients

English-Speaking Union Prize (ESUP) Grant Page

The English-Speaking Union Prize (ESUP) is offered each year to the RHET student presenting the best piece of expository writing in an upper-level (2000 – 4000) rhetoric or writing course. More information about the Prize is available at: https://www.uwinnipeg.ca/rhetoric/student_awards/english-speaking-union-prize.html

The Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications congratulates the ESUP recipients for the 2020-21 academic year: Sophie Ashton, Alina Moore, Maddalena Nowosad, and Anna Schaible-Schur! We are pleased to recognize their excellence in writing and in the study of rhetoric and communications. The 2020-21 recipients are featured below.

Sophie Ashton

Recipient photo

“Learning in this department has been an enriching experience and the guidance from all of my professors made learning feel fun and achievable. In writing this paper I came to recognize I was able to vocalize concepts I couldn’t even conceptualize two years ago, which is something I am incredibly proud of, and grateful for. I deeply appreciate this recognition of my writing, and I can’t wait to learn more.”

Alina Moore

Recipient's photo

“I am overwhelmed with gratitude to have been chosen as a recipient for the English-Speaking Union Prize at the University of Winnipeg. This award means an extraordinary amount to me. I am honoured and privileged to have my writing recognized by the professors who have guided me, and who have gone the extra mile to help me throughout my academic journey. I couldn't have done it without the continued support and the relationships developed with both staff and students during my time in the Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications, and I am incredibly grateful for these experiences. This award is a shining light in what has been an unimaginably challenging year, and will be an immense support as I continue in my academic career. It's difficult to express how thankful I am for this opportunity, and I appreciate your ongoing support and belief in me.”

Maddalena Nowosad

Recipient's photo

“Having my research on skateboard programming in Winnipeg recognized by the department and professors I admire such as, Dr. McGillivray, Dr. McLeod Rogers, and Dr. Flisfeder is such an honour. It has helped build my confidence going into academic projects. It has also encouraged me to pursue my passion for research in this area and challenge myself as I take on future writing and research opportunities. I am very thankful for Dr. McGillivray nominating me for this award and his constant support throughout the process of my research.”

Anna Schaible-Schur

Recipient's photo

“I thank the Department of Rhetoric, Writing, and Communications for this award. I am delighted that the department recognizes students’ work and am grateful that my writing met the standard. Over the past year, my writing has significantly improved as I find my place within the Rhetoric Department. Receiving this award helps motivate me as I continue my studies and provides support to keep writing outside of an academic context. This paper was an exercise in writing about local issues, where I explored the importance of community, shifting values, and history. I am honoured to accept the English-Speaking Union Prize.”

Update: July 20 2021