Wesley Hall

40th Anniversary

The History of The University of Winnipeg

The University of Winnipeg received its charter in 1967 but its roots date back more than 130 years. The founding colleges were Manitoba College (1871), and Wesley College (1888), which merged to form United College in 1938.

The University of Winnipeg, located in the heart of Canada, is a compact, diverse, multicultural academic community committed to access and excellence. The University of Winnipeg is a provincially and privately funded post-secondary institution with undergraduate and select graduate programs, as well as Collegiate and Continuing Education divisions.

The University of Winnipeg is large enough to offer over 800 courses in more than 40 subject areas from Aboriginal Governance to Women's Studies, yet small enough to make sure students connect with the University's award-winning professors. Home to more than 9,200 full- and part-time students, UWinnipeg has been ranked by our graduates in the Top Ten of all Canadian universities when asked about their "Entire Educational Experience" (Maclean's Graduate Survey, November 2004). The Globe & Mail 2005 Report Card gives The University of Winnipeg an overall 'A' grade in the areas of teaching quality, class sizes, faculty-student interaction, and the availability of faculty outside classroom hours.

The University of Winnipeg has just embarked on a Campus Development Plan that will guide the growth and change of the University of Winnipeg campus over the next ten years. At the heart of the plan is the University's century-old commitment to students.


1871 Manitoba College was established by the Presbyterian Church

1877 Wesley College’s charter was granted to the Methodist Church

1888 Wesley College opened under the leadership of Principal Sparling

1896 Wesley Hall officially opened

1912 Wesley Annex was built, later renamed Sparling Hall. It served as a women’s residence until the 1960s.

1917 Dr. J.H. Riddell named President of Wesley College

1931 Manitoba College sold its property and joined with Wesley College in the teaching of Theology

1938 Manitoba College and Wesley College join to become United College

1967 United College receives its charter and becomes The University of Winnipeg under the leadership of President Lockhart.

1988 The University of Winnipeg celebrated the 100th anniversary of Wesley College and the 50th anniversary of United College

1996 Wesley Hall celebrated its 100th anniversary

2007 The University of Winnipeg celebrates its 40th anniversary